RSS Feed

Two Ways of Looking at a Sandwich.

Posted on

Since I photograph at least 50% of what I cook and bake, just in case I might someday wish to write about it and preserve an ephemeral cupcake or casserole for posterity, my camera is always where I can easily find it. Today, however, my camera was at a Minor League baseball game with Sam, after a prolonged series of “pleaspleasepleasei’llbe caaaaaaaaareful!” attacks wore me out. It didn’t occur to me until after we had eaten what I considered to be an interesting lunch that I could have photographed it using my phone – I just scrapped the whole project when I remembered that my camera was on walkabout among a herd of sugar-addled sixth graders.

I had made really good sandwiches based on things lying around the house: leftover whole grain buns, two different kinds of cheese with hot peppers, pulled pork with barbecue sauce, an abandoned avocado…stuff like that. Mr. Annie got two giant sandwiches piled high with pork, Cabot Habanero Cheddar and avocado, and I made myself a more modest vegetarian model with no pork and a healthy pile of spicy alfalfa sprouts. Alas, these gems of thrifty husbandry were doomed to slip away (literally and figuratively), unmarked.

Later, I remembered an interesting piece I had heard on “All Things Considered” yesterday, about how people who do not enter art-related professions tend to stop drawing at some point because they “aren’t good at it.” The interviewee, a cartoonist, was advocating for lifelong drawing for everyone. I actually do still draw, not well, but for my own amusement. I am a serious doodler, and I have drawn the pictures Sam was supposed to have drawn for approximately 500 school projects.

So I drew the sandwiches.

lunch-draw-1

lunch-draw-2

About imagineannie

I am a 40-something Midwestern wife, mother and lawyer with a passion for cooking, reading about food, eating food...you get the picture.

4 responses »

  1. Thank you for NOT saying “Sammy” like Rachel Ray. I would have to kill you.

    Love the drawing. The fact that you felt you had to label the plate with the word “plate” and an arrow cracks me up! And the word “schmear”. I love it!!!

    YES! Please keep drawing!!! :)

    Reply
  2. nicole ellefson

    most excellent! much more inviting the drawing. feels very how-to-ish like I would even be able to make it because I wouldn’t suffer with feeling like mine didn’t look as pretty as yours!

    Reply
  3. I love that you labeled the plate. I also think it’s funny because I draw everything for all of Daniel’s projects and in his story tonight I drew him holding a plate of hot chocolate chip cookies??! Too funny. Looks good, the sandwich, I mean. I also am forever grateful that you didn’t say “sammy” for sandwich ala Rachel Ray. That is so annoying. I am not a sandwich person myself, but when pulled pork is involved I’m all over it.

    Reply
  4. A splendid sandwiche and artful depiction – very creative.
    Ditto on the “sammy” annoyance.

    I haven’t developed the habit of snapping photos of food I make…case in point, my last post for cranberry banana smousse, of which I should have taken a photo, but didn’t. So, now that I’ve used all my frozen cranberries and I can’t find any more in local supermarkets, I’ll have to wait till they’re in season to get a photo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 210 other followers

