RSS Feed

The Last Supper

I am a law-abiding citizen, and live in a state that does not impose the death penalty. If, however, I went on a killing rampage in Texas, I might be forced to contemplate what I would order for dinner the night before I was killed by lethal injection. (Or by electrocution; I doubt that my menu choice would be affected by the method of execution). If the death row thing bothers you, substitute “only food on a desert island” and you’ll feel better.

My husband thinks its morbid, but I think its interesting to contemplate the specifics of a last supper on earth. Most of us never know which dinner is the last one – I could eat a particularly wretched salad at McDonald’s and then be hit by a car in the parking lot. I could choke on a tough piece of meat in a recipe with which I was experimenting. As I see it, its an advantage to have some control over the final meal. (Although, if your last Lobster Thermidor is from a really great restaurant you never tried before, its kind of moot since you probably won’t be able to eat there again).

It seems that big steak dinners are quite popular, and I know that I would NEVER squander my last opportunity for a good dinner on a big hunk of red meat. Fried chicken is also quite popular, and while I really like fried chicken, I’m not sure that I would be permitted to pick how and by whom it was prepared, and that would matter. I wonder about that, too. If I really wanted the Crispy Duck that I used to get at a restaurant in London near the Victoria & Albert, would someone get it for me? Chicken Tikka Vindaloo Curry from Kenmore Square, extra hot?

I think my final request would be for my mother to make me a brisket and some potato pancakes with homemade applesauce. My mother’s brisket, also prepared by her mother, Bernice and her aunts Dorothy and Harriet, is a perfect tender, salty, onion-y example of what happens when you use a few ingredients, love and time to spin culinary straw into gold. In the unlikely event that you have leftovers, you can make fabulous sandwiches the next day.

I would no longer be concerned with eating my daily servings of fruits and vegetables, but I might like to have a salad I made last winter for a party, that includes pears, blue cheese and candied pecans. It doesn’t really fit the Yiddische Mama theme of the rest of the meal, but it is really good. For desert, a Key Lime Pie because its my favorite dessert. Not the cheesecake kind, but the real deal.

What would you eat?

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

Leave a Reply

