RSS Feed

A Perfect Day for Banana Bread! (With Apologies to J.D. Salinger)

Posted on

So we were trapped in the house most of the day, waiting for the contractor to come and cut a hole in the living room ceiling to determine the cause of the mold blossoming there. (Its bad, and not, as my father would say, “dinner table conversation”). The bananas were looking reproachfully at me in the kitchen as they slowly turned brown and spotty, never to be cut up and frozen for smoothies despite my best intentions.

bananas-1.jpg

So, I made banana bread using the ONE recipe from the 1997 edition of “The Joy of Cooking” that I actually use. In general, I dislike that particular incarnation of “Joy,” which seems to be trying to be so many things (international cookbook, diet cookbook, basics cookbook) that it sacrifices much of its earlier identity as an honest-to-goodness Kitchen Bible. Of course, I don’t really follow the recipe, because I never do, but I do find that there is something in the mixing method (creaming butter and sugar, adding dry ingredients and then adding eggs) that makes for a very tender loaf, as promised. Here is my version, which relies on “Joy”‘s basic contours but also uses up things you may have in your kitchen. By the way, I tripled this recipe today and it turned out beautifully. Next time, I’m going to make this recipe with macadamia nuts, coconut and drained, canned pineapple.

banana-bread.jpg

Annie’s Over-the-Top Banana Bread

  1. 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  2. 3/4 teaspoon salt
  3. 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  4. 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  5. 5 1/3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  6. 2/3 cup sugar
  7. 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  8. 1 cup mashed,very ripe bananas (about 2)
  9. 1/2 cup chopped pecans (I toasted mine)
  10. 1/2 cup baking coconut
  11. 1/2-1 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (depending on your chocolate requirement)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a loaf pan.

Whisk together flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder.

In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar 2-3 minutes on high speed until lightened in color and texture. Beat in the flour mixture until blended, then gradually beat in eggs. Fold in bananas, nuts, coconut and chocolate chips.

Scrape batter into pan and spread evenly. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 50-60 minutes. (Note: I have never had this bread bake completely in 60 minutes, so really do the toothpick test or you’ll have a mushy, uncooked center). Let cool in the pan on a rack for 5-10 minutes before unmolding to cool completely on the rack.

Edited to add: In the interest of full disclosure, I should tell you that since I wrote this post, I have found a banana bread recipe that I like better. Check it out here.

banana-bread-close-up.jpg

 

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

3 responses »

  1. What a coincidence! I made banana bread on sat. as well. But mine didn’t have chocolate in it! I wish I’d have thought of that! Yummy! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Reject Pantry Day 1: A Banana Bread Revelation « Forest Street Kitchen

  3. That looks like a great combination of flavors for banana bread! I have used several recipes from “Joy of Cooking” , some I’ve had to adapt. Hushpuppies, timbals are 2 that come to mind. In fact I’m using the basic formula for spinach timbals for work tomorrow. But you’re right, I wouldn’t go there looking for a mole recipe. Thank you for following!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

