RSS Feed

A Breath of Fresh Air

It is hot here these days, hot like when you step off the plane in the Caribbean and find yourself wrapped in hot, wet air. In weather like this its hard to have much of an appetite, and the things that appeal to me most are those that are light in texture, and a little sharp or spicy. Things like gazpacho, or icy cold shrimp with a spicy sauce. Foods that are a breath of fresh air, like a “souffle,” which can be translated to mean “breath.”

Last night I had my parents to dinner because Rob is out of town and I wanted to make a recipe I’d saved from “Real Simple” that served four. Although Sam had a “no thank you bite” followed by much theatrical gagging, the other three of us were completely delighted with our souffle.

souffle-1.jpg

Skillet Souffle

From “Real Simple,” January 2007

  1. 6 large eggs, separated
  2. 1/4 cup chopped, fresh chives
  3. 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  4. 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  5. 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  6. 4 ounces goat cheese
  7. 1 5-oz bag salad greens (I used fresh from the local Farmer’s Market)
  8. 1/2 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
  9. 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  10. 1 lemon, cut into wedges (This is for the salad – I forgot and used my lemon in iced tea, so I used white wine vinegar instead)

Heat oven to 400 degrees. In a large bowl, whisk together the egg yolks, chives, salt and pepper. In a separate bowl, with an electric mixer on medium-high (I used my stand mixer), beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form. Using a spatula. gently fold the egg whites into the yolk mixture.

Meanwhile, melt the butter in a large, nonstick skillet over medium-low heat and tilt to coat the sides. Add the egg mixture and crumble the cheese over the top. Bake until the eggs are puffed and golden, about 10 minutes. Cut into wedges. Divide the souffle, salad greens and tomatoes among plates. Drizzle the greens with the oil and serve with the lemon.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

One response »

  1. Pingback: Thursday Again - More Menus « Forest Street Kitchen

Leave a Reply

