RSS Feed

Ginger Cutlets

Those of you who favor food blogs with lovely photographs of food should now avert your eyes and move on. Quickly. I’m dedicated to telling the truth about my culinary experiences, and the truth is that some things that taste wonderful look absolutely vile. It doesn’t help that I am not a gifted “plater,” although I’m learning. I actually have quite a way with setting cookies on platters, and have created some adorable fruit plates. Tonight, however, I could not find a way to arrange the (delicious) dinner I made that did not make it look, well, like “icky chicken” as my son immediately christened it.

It really was delicious, and I recommend it highly. I adapted it mainly to make it feasible as a week-night family dinner. The original recipe called for only two breasts, which were to be pounded until “paper thin,” which would have made for much quicker cooking time, but would have added a lot of pounding time. It would also have made the breasts far to large for me to have cooked four at one time. I also subbed in fat free half and half for the heavy cream for health reasons. I served it with rice and broccoli.

If someone out there makes it and makes it look beautiful, I really want to know about it. I’m thinking that maybe, if I had browned the sauce at the end, it would have looked prettier – Mrs. Knopf knew a thing or two about presentation.

icky-chicken.jpg

Ginger Cutlets

(Adapted from Memoirs of a Cook by Mildred O. Knopf)

  1. 4 boneless, skinless breasts
  2. 1/2 cup flour
  3. 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  4. 1/4 teaspoon Pepper
  5. 2 tablespoons butter
  6. 8 shallots, minced
  7. 8 scallions, chopped
  8. 4 tablespoons fresh ginger, peeled and minced
  9. 1 1/3 cups fat-free half and half (the original recipe calls for heavy cream, which would be divine)

Pre-heat oven to a warming temperature.

Place flour, salt and pepper in a plastic bag, add chicken and shake to coat evenly.

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook the chicken until cooked through (about 15 minutes) turning every 5 minutes. Remove to warm oven.

Add shallots and scallions to pan and cook for 5 minutes. Stir in ginger. Simmer until slightly softened. (Note: I found that I didn’t have much to “simmer” in at this point, and added a bit of chicken broth). Pour in heavy cream. Simmer until slightly reduced. Spoon the sauce over the breasts and place the dish under broiler until brown.

If its lovely, take a picture, post it, and share your secret with me!

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

One response »

  1. I agree that some of the yummiest food looks the ugliest! This recipe looks fabulous, I’ll have to try it some time. Thanks for checking out my blog, by the way! I’m really enjoying reading yours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

