RSS Feed

Thanks, Tony!!

Last Thursday was a traumatic day. The plasterer came to reassemble my living room ceiling after its unceremonious removal on Wednesday, to repair damage from leaking pipes. Imagine our delight when, as the plasterer began his work, water began to drip onto his head from a new leak that had apparently been liberated by Wednesday’s house-wrecking activities. He could not finish, the plumber couldn’t come back until some indeterminate time later than next week but earlier than the Winter Solstice, and I am left with sawhorses and plastic tarps in my living room and the customary contents of my living room shoved into my dining room.

Some time after the plasterer left and I convinced myself that I could Just Be a Good Sport, the U.P.S. man came with a package from amazon.com. It was addressed to me, but I hadn’t ordered anything, and there was no special occasion (aside from National Living Room Destruction Day) so I was a little baffled. Expecting to find that a mistake had been made, and that the box contained books about Greco-Roman wrestling or growing Bonsai trees, I was thrilled to see the word “Panisse” peeking out after my first good rip into the cardboard. It was right in there with my primal memory of ripping into red and green Rudolph paper and seeing  the face of the doll I had coveted for six months. My father-in-law Tony had sent me both Alice Waters’ Chez Panisse Cafe Cookbook and The Zuni Cafe Cookbook. He lives in San Francisco, and knew that both are famous area restaurants. After doing a little research, he found that they both had cookbooks and thought I should have them to further my culinary studies.

Since I am somewhat underemployed at the moment, buying hard-cover cookbooks is not something I do on a regular basis. I would so far as to say never. I admire them in bookstores, and I take them out of the library and try frantically to make everything that looks good before the books are due back, but I don’t actually buy cookbooks except at garage sales. These two books are incredibly beautiful; the Chez Panisse book has woodcut illustrations that are so lovely that I find myself wishing I could mat and frame them to hang in my kitchen. Both books are shiny, new, and full of recipes to try, enjoy and blog about, and it makes me irrationally happy just to know they are in my house and they are MINE. Both come from chefs that I admire tremendously, who write lovingly about things that matter to me, like using local, seasonal ingredients and cooking for people as a part of building communities and relationships. Really, nothing could have made me any happier.

Thanks, Tony!

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

5 responses »

  1. Hi Ann

    heheheh It’s always nice to get `ink`!

    I’m tickled that you’re so pleased with the books. I’ll be checking with Rob and Sam, to get their reviews of the culinary delights you select from their pages…and look for the photos of your recreations, in this blog.

    …..and…..you are indeed welcome! tonyn

    Reply
  2. Sorry that you are having to go through having replastering done.

    We are having bathroom ceiling work done on Thursday and I am dreading it.

    What exciting news about the cookbooks. I LOVE books. I’m with Tony in looking forward to your reviews and photos of your recreations.

    Reply
  3. Tony – I keep telling you that you need to come here so that you can actually eat the food. In the mean time, keep watching the blog!

    Jolynna when you live in a 1912 house, stuff falls apart. I do not do well in chaos, though, and I’m dying for it to be over. As for the reviews of recipes, I think I should have a few good ones to make use of your fresh produce.

    Reply
  4. Great about recipes for produce!

    Interesting that you live in a house built in 1912. My daughter’s house was built in 1912. There’s a link to her site on my blog. It’s 1912Bungelow. If you go back to the beginning when she started the blog she took lots of pictures of the remodeling.

    1912 must have been a GOOD year for houses.

    Reply
  5. I will check it out directly (your daughter’s house, that is). I think the first time I was on your blog I checked it out briefly because I was attracted by the “1912,” but I’m curious to see a whole remodel.

    1912 was a very good year. It was the year Oreos were invented….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

