RSS Feed

Pesto: A Story of Heartbreak

So I grew up eating pesto very infrequently because my mother, despite liking basil, dislikes pesto. Once I was on my own, I gobbled it up every chance I got, and experimented with different green stuff (parsley, cilantro), different nuts (almonds, walnuts, pecans, filberts) and different hard cheeses, as well as sometimes adding a little butter to the finished product.

I had never made pesto during my married life, because (and I will explain all about this one day) for the past ten years I have been cooking things that Sandra Lee might feature on her show. Now that I’m cooking for real again, I bought basil at the market, toasted some pine nuts, whipped up a batch of pesto and served it for dinner with penne, served it to Rob (who has never tried it) and found out that…he hates it, too. He tried manfully, but I have to respect an honest dislike for certain foods.

I will still make the pesto. I will freeze pesto for darkest winter, and I will eat it with all my senses because I find it beautiful, delicious, sensuous on the lips and tantalizing to smell. (I guess I can’t think of any particular sounds made by pesto, but I’ll work on it). I will, however, be eating my pesto alone.

pesto-1.jpg

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

3 responses »

  1. I like your new heading. Elephant ears, yum!

    I can sympathize with you about the pesto. My husband, a preferer of Sandra Lee type meals, asked me not to get anymore eggplant when I came back from the vegetable stand.

    The Amish lady down the road has the new milder, white kind and since my husband has been eating it and not complaining I thought he liked it. I love eggplant. But, I guess when he saw me with it today, my husband gathered enough courage to speak up.

    Reply
  2. Well, I get around the eggplant issue by frying it. Of course that negates all of the nutritional value, but I’m sort of hoping that I can gradually move from deep frying to pan frying to a nice sautee with lots of other (masking) flavors. My mom made a great eggplant souffle that in no way resembled eggplant; she’s still trying to find the recipe for me.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Menu Planning, Week 10 « Forest Street Kitchen

Leave a Reply

