RSS Feed

Menu Planning, Week 9

This week, as always, I’m looking to use what’s in season, buy what’s on sale,  provide a healthy spectrum of proteins (eg. not all red meat), and keep things interesting but not too interesting.  In a couple of cases I am adapting part of the meal so that Sam doesn’t have to eat anything too yucky. I will provide pictures and recipes during the week.
Sunday

Burgers on the grill, Corn on the Cob and Watermelon 

I fear this will not be locally grown corn, because its been very dry here this summer, and the early corn crops are not doing well. I’ve waited patiently, but its just not summer unless we have some corn on the cob. Even if it comes from New Jersey on a truck.

Monday

Roast Chicken with Five Spice Rub, Spicy Eggplant & Green Bean Curry and Sticky Rice

I’ll roast two chickens at the same time, one without the spice rub, and save one for Wednesday’s dinner.

Tuesday

Campanelle with Tomatoes and Feta, and Homemade Foccacia 

Wednesday

Southwestern Chicken Panini, Baked Chips and Fruit Salad 

I’m not sure if Sam will love this hopped-up version of panini, but I always have some deli turkey and plain cheese in the fridge, and I can easily make him a plainer version and cook it along with ours.

Thursday

Fish Tacos (for Grownups), Bean and Cheese Quesadillas (for Sam), Mexican Rice and Sauteed Zucchini

There is just no way Sam will eat fish tacos, but I’m trying to introduce a seafood meal into our weekly rotation. Rob would like the fish deep-fried, and I’m trying to decide whether its really any worse, health-wise, than pan frying. As for the zucchini, I plan to slice it and sautee it in olive oil with some cumin seed, garlic, onion and finely chopped jalapeno.

Friday

BLTs on Homemade Bread (Fried Eggs Optional) and Fresh Fruit 

Saturday 

Out to Dinner 

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

Leave a Reply

