RSS Feed

Picking

I had a big lunch. I went out to a great local restaurant called “Dusty’s Cellar,” and ate half of a Havana Turkey Wrap with sweet potato fries, and half a piece of apple tart. I ate with my mother, and we talked about religion, and family, and handbags and mortality and had a delicious hour and a half of total escape. I also ate a few (thousand) Goldfish crackers around 2:00.

I was not hungry at 6:00. I was not hungry at 7:00. Sam was at a friend’s house for dinner, and Rob made himself a big sandwich. At 8:00 I watched a great show about a sustainable food feast in Massachusetts, and got a little hungry at the thought of the beef braised in oatmeal stout. I ate a carton of 2% Greek Yogurt with a little honey in it. (Greek Yogurt is, in my opinion, the perfect food and if I had to throw either my family or the last Greek Yogurt in existence off of the life boat, let’s just say I would still be able to make sauce for my Gyros the day I was rescued).

For dessert, I had two miniature York Peppermint Patties. When “Monk” started at 9:00, I was still hungry, so I made what seemed like a good sandwich from homemade focaccia, smoked turkey, a little Swiss cheese and some mustard. It didn’t taste good. I wrapped it up and stowed it in the refrigerator. When “The Soup” came on at 10:00, I ate two slices of mild Cheddar and called it a day.

Clearly, I watch too much TV on Friday nights. That, however, is not the issue. This wasn’t even really “eating alone,” this odd thing I did; it was “picking.” Nothing that actually constituted prepared food was remotely appealing. To wit: the hapless sandwich. Aside from the glaring absence of fruits or vegetables, I did manage to take in some calcium and protein. Okay, there was no grain, either. Just calcium and protein. Maybe that’s all my body wanted or needed. Maybe it was just my own weird little tapas meal – yogurt, candy and cheese.

Does anyone else do this? Is there going to be a pharmaceutical that will cure this tendency, despite side effects including nausea and the urge to gamble and shop for tiny plates?

Maybe I’ll just have a gummy worm and go to bed.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

2 responses »

  1. loved this post. i just got off the phone with my mom. she’s in nyc and i’m here in nashville. we talked of what new digital camera she should get. but no leisurely lunches for us. unless i’m there or she’s here which is maybe 4x a year or so. our conversations … – mostly about how i need to watch my money better and about how my brother’s wife upsets her – and whatever trip she’s planning down the line… and after i hang up it’s easy to head for the chocolate. but i get envious of all the women who have their mom’s close. even though we argue and she makes me crazy and we push all the buttons…

    as for the picking – the candy, goldfish, fage yogurt fetish, etc… well when you figure it our be SURE to email me first, ok? thank you…

    Reply
  2. I am very lucky to have my mom here. Believe me: buttons are still pushed and I am made crazy about once a month. We seem to discuss similar things, at least as far as in-laws are concerned. She is still one of the most interesting people I know, and among my greatest champions (even when I am completely wrong).

    Perhaps if Pfizer or Aventis creates a drug for us picker-types we can be among the guinea pigs on whom they do their initial studies. In the meantime, I’m having an heirloom tomato and a cookie for lunch.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

