RSS Feed

Fried Egg and Tomato Melt on Brioche

egg-sandwich-1.jpg

Okay. If you came for beautiful pictures, you may be disappointed. There are many, many food blogs with pictures that are either instructive, breathtakingly beautiful, or both. My pictures are a little vertiginous at times, and there always seems to be a misplaced crumb or dribble on the plate. I am just not that good at taking pictures, even of inanimate objects. This, in fact, cut short my career on e-Bay.

I can cook, though!! Last night I made Brioche. Not the fancy kind with balls and turrets, but in loaf pans, for sandwiches. Today, I noticed that I had lots of heirloom tomatoes on the edge of turning themselves into sauce, as well as some lovely eggs. I also had slices of pepper-jack cheese left over from another adventure in the kitchen. So:

egg-sandwich-4.jpg

Fried Egg and Tomato Melt on Brioche

  1. 2 slices Brioche
  2. 2 thick slices ripe tomato
  3. 2 slices cheese
  4. 2 eggs
  5. Salt and Pepper
  6. Butter or Cooking Spray

On top of Brioche slices, place tomato slices. Sprinkle lightly with salt. Place cheese on top of tomato, and place under broiler. (I use the one in our toaster oven). Lubricate and heat small frying pan and fry two eggs until cooked but still soft enough to run. (Unless that makes you ill, in which case, by all means, cook them until the yolks are hard). When cheese had melted, remove bread from broiler, top each slice with an egg, and a bit of salt and pepper if you are so inclined. My husband has pointed out that the excellence level of this meal would be greatly enhanced by toasting and buttering the Brioche before beginning to build; that’s between you and your cardiologist.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

4 responses »

  1. Kristin Beals Bellar

    Ann:

    You made my husband drool. And, to allay your photography concerns, he said the photo looked like something out of a magazine. This is fantastic. I’m going to try this recipe this weekend…

    Kristin Beals Bellar

    Reply
  2. Thanks; I needed that!! If you check out some of the blogs on my “links” list, though, you’ll see that there are infinitely better photographers. As for your husband, I’m always glad to enhance marital bliss by providing recipes. Its an important community service.

    Reply
  3. and that right there is so very up my alley…

    Reply
  4. …and healthy, to boot! Okay, not so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

