RSS Feed

Zucchini My Husband Will Eat

spicy-zucchini.jpg

We are not suffering from an abundance of zucchini. I can’t really garden here due to the unfortunate combination of a big house and a small lot (resulting in complete shade) and most of my friends are not gardeners with the exception of my 10-year-old friend Hannah, who grows and shares beautiful tomatoes and cucumbers. No zucchini, though.

Since I am not aggrieved by baskets-full of the stuff, I still love it, and buy it every week at the Farmer’s Market. Unfortunately, the boys do not love it, and would really rather not see it again. Last night, I discovered that although I had planned (and published) a menu of grilled pork, corn and melon, I had not, in fact bought any corn. I had bought melon, but it turned out to be a yucky, tasteless specimen – unusual in these parts at these time of year, but it happens. So, I made a big pot of rice and stared at my zucchini, hoping to be inspired. I had the zucchini, I always have olive oil, garlic and onions, and I had these tiny peppers from the local Hmong farmers:

hmong-peppers.jpg

The Kitchen Gods were with me, and I came up with something that was not only eaten, but eaten with gratitude and enjoyment rather than a strong sense of fulfilling a duty.

Zucchini My Husband Will Eat

  1. 2 tablespoons olive oil
  2. 3 cloves garlic, smashed, diced, or some of each (I like to smash them because this recipe involves cooking them slowly so that they get very sweet and I loved finding chunks of the garlic in my zucchini, but dice is fine, too).
  3. 1 onion (I used a sweet one), diced
  4. 2 zucchini and/or other summer squash, cut into thin slices
  5. 6-10 tiny peppers, or 1-2 jalapenos, or whatever peppers you have, trimmed and diced (I made this dish very spicy; you might want to tailor the pepper level to your family’s fire tolerance).
  6. Edited to add: I have discovered, since publishing this recipe that some fresh or cooked corn, cut from the cob, is a fantastic addition to this dish.
  7. 1 tablespoon sugar
  8. Salt and Pepper

Heat the olive oil in a generous frying or sautee pan over medium-low heat. Add garlic, onions and peppers and cook slowly, careful not to burn garlic or brown anything, until vegetables are soft and onions are transparent. The garlic won’t get completely soft, but when the onions are soft and transparent, the garlic is ready.

Add the zucchini and raise the heat to medium-high. Cook, stirring constantly, until the zucchini softens and becomes more translucent. The onion may brown a bit here, but there should be enough moisture from the zucchini to keep anything from sticking or burning. If you see sticking or burning, you can add a little chicken broth, or water.

Taste a bit of zucchini. It will probably be quite spicy. Add about a tablespoon of sugar, and continue cooking; taste again. This produced, for me, a delightful kind of hot/sweet flavor that we loved. If you’ve added less pepper, add less sugar; the idea is just to transform the flavor from purely “hot” to a more complex, sweet-hot. Continue cooking until zucchini is all soft and you’re happy with the flavor. This is delicious over jasmine rice.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

20 responses »

  1. Pingback: Zucchini and a Joke « Forest Street Kitchen

  2. Pingback: off the air

  3. This is a very interesting zucchini recipe… and something I’m sure I would love—mixed veggies cooked together are my favorite thing!

    Reply
  4. Clumsy, it is one of my better inventions. (I tend not to post the hideous failures since its not in the best interests of anyone involved to replicate them). I’m sure you can throw all kinds of things in there and have it come out delicious – I hope you ove it as much as we do!

    Reply
  5. Hey “Annie”!!! Great website, love your picture too.
    So, is this your ZOOOOO BA KEENIE reicpe?
    I will have to try it.

    Have a Wonderful Thanksgiving!
    Love you
    Ray

    Reply
  6. hey, what’s that smell?

    what’s cookin’ Annie?

    Reply
  7. Onions, Ray! Merry Christmas to you and all the Woodalls!!!!!

    Reply
  8. Good afternoon Annie! I hope you are enjoying the New Year! Famous Terri sends her love! Me too.
    Ray

    Reply
  9. Hey, Famous Ray!! We are having a great new year, so far. I hope you and all the Famous Woodalls had a great Christmas and a bangin’ start to 2008. We miss you.

    Reply
  10. Well Annie, We miss you and Lob too! Oh, sorry, I meant Rob…only his chinese friends call him Lob. Our love goes out to you every morning on the 8:15….”I get up every morning , take the 8:15, into the city…) An old Bachman Turner Overdrive song.
    Famous Terri is cooking her Signature Red Rice dish. We are headed to friends for a progressively Famous dinner.
    Our love to Sam Rob and you of course.
    Famous Ray

    Reply
  11. Ray, I sure would like Terri’s recipe for this here blog…think she’d give it to me if I gave her credit?

    Reply
  12. I will give Terri your email. She would love to share with you!
    Hello and Love to Famous Sam and Famous Rob!
    Cheers

    Reply
  13. Famous Ray, you send it, I’ll publish it. Happy Valentine’s Day (almost) you sexy thing.

    Reply
  14. Hi Annie ~ I hope all is well with you and your family; and I am terribly sorry this has taken me so long to get to you. I hope your family enjoys it as much as mine does ~ I just made a few weeks ago for our supper club and all 6 couples loved it. Enjoy 🙂
    Red Rice
    1 cup chopped onion 1 cup tomatoe sauce
    1 cup chopped green pepper 1 cup water
    2 tablespoons butter 3 chicken bouillon
    1 Hillshire Farms smoked sauage,diced 1 cup raw rice
    1 14 1/2 can crushed tomatoes
    1 tablespoon hot sauce (i use Cholula)
    Melt butter and saute onion, pepper and sausage in saucepan until sausage is browning around edges. Add remaining ingredients and season with pepper; mix well. Pour into greased 13 x 9 pan and bake 350 for 45 minutes – 1 hour

    Reply
  15. Thanks, Famous Terri! We are busy but well, and we miss you guys. I will put this recipe on my menu for next week, and once I’ve cooked it it will receive a post of its very own. Thanks so much!!

    Reply
  16. And yes…….I do imagineannie! I hope all is well.
    love
    Ray

    Reply
  17. Hey, it is Super Saturday!
    I hope all is well. Please tell Samm I miss seeing him. Does Rob still take Sam golfing? Do you remember when I was able to make one of Sam’s games with Rob? That was sooo cool.
    Hello and love to all from Charleston.
    Peace and Cheers!
    Ray………did you get a chance to make the red rice?

    Reply
  18. hi, Ray!! Yes, Sam still takes Sam golfing, and Sam just finished his baseball season. I absolutely remember hanging out with you at a game. We are well, hope you are too, and yes I have made the rice, although i haven’t “written it up” yet.

    Reply
  19. How did you like the rice? What I should have told you earlier is that I usually sneak in and add more Chaloula hot sauce…Terri always goes too lite on that. I also add more meat.
    Please do not tell Terri, she has know idea.
    I left Rob a coupple Happy Birthday messages earlier this week. Is he 43? I lost count!
    May the Blessings of Love, Hope and Good Cheer fill the hearts of all the Nichol’s family….and your Mom and Dad!
    Let me know how your parents are. They were always kind and accepting of me.
    Peace and Cheers
    Ray

    Reply
  20. Hey, Famous Ray!! I think Terri may know now. 🙂 (About the meat and hot sauce, I mean). We are all well, and we miss you lots.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

