RSS Feed

Muffin Doin’

muffin-closeup.jpg

School begins tomorrow, and I am taking muffins to contribute to the “First Day Coffee.” These muffins are easy to make, quite yummy, and contain no nuts – an important feature now that nuts are often banned from public schools due to allergies. These would be great to take to new neighbors, to a church function, or to a tailgate. I expect they’ll go over well with some bad coffee and some nervous introductions at tomorrow’s meeting. Edited to add: Since my original entry, I have been thinking that I should let you all know that these muffins are VERY sweet – more like cake than many traditional muffins. In my humble opinion, they are better served with coffee or as a light dessert than with a salad or soup.

 

Coffee-Cake Muffins

(from “Everyday Food,” Contributed by Kitty Tucker, of Billings, Montana)

 

  1. 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for pan (I used cupcake liners)
  2. 1/2 cup light-brown sugar
  3. 2 cups all purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  4. 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  5. 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  6. 1/2 teaspoon salt
  7. 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  8. 2 large eggs
  9. 3/4 cup low-fat buttermilk
  10. 3/4 cup golden raisins
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Butter a 12-cup standard muffin tin (or line with wrappers). In a small bowl, using your fingers, combine 2 tablespoons butter, brown sugar and 1/2 cup flour; set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together remaining flour, baking power, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl (I used a stand mixer), beat remaining 4 tablespoons butter and granulated sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time; beat after each addition until combined. Add flour mixture and buttermilk in alternating batches, beginning and ending with flour mixture; beat until just combined. Fold in raisins.
  3. Divide batter equally into tin (I found that each wrapper held about 1/4 cup batter); top with brown sugar mixture. Bake until browned and a toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean, 20-25 minutes (mine took closer to 30). Let stand 5 minutes before lifting muffins out onto a cooling rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

muffins-on-plate.jpg

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

4 responses »

  1. These look yummy — like crumb cake, but personal!

    Reply
  2. Barbara – thank for visiting Forest Street Kitchen! They are really a crumb cake, and much easier to serve at any event where people need to eat standing up. They are also sweet and rich enough that they really don’t need butter. Unless you are seeking the opinion of my husband, Butter Dude.

    Reply
  3. crumbed coffee cake. love it. and i like the individual aspect of the muffin. it’s a helpful guideline as to when the hell to stop eating…

    Reply
  4. Claudia, you might think that, but in practice: not so much. I’m freezing the rest of them so that if I have an Uncontrollable Urge it will at least take me a few calories to gnaw through the thing. Who knows; perhaps I can actually lose weight eating muffins….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

