RSS Feed

Tofu, Beef Stew, Adieu

Last night I made a terrible, critical, unforgivable error: I cooked tofu. I happen to like tofu a lot in most forms, although I did not enjoy it in the Oberlin College vegetarian dining hall where it was presented as a plain white slab with a lemon wedge, as if it were a piece of fish. I hope they have figured out how very wrong that is. In Asian food, sauteed with veggies, or in an omelet, I like it just fine, though; I usually order dishes in Chinese and Thai restaurants with tofu in place of meat. Sam and Rob, however, do not share my fondness for soy protein.

Last night, when we had all gotten home tired and cranky from football practice (Sam), work (Rob) and a PTA meeting (me), Rob grilled marinated chicken breasts while I made rice and a vegetable curry. I had the ingredients for the curry sauce I use for beef curry, as well as a quantity of bell peppers, onions and garlic. I had remembered that I had something heartier to throw in – some squash, maybe, some cauliflower or a couple of little potatoes, but I was mistaken (tired and cranky). Hoping no one would notice in the midst of Curry Ecstasy, I chopped and drained some firm tofu and threw it in.

One would think that I had perhaps been single-handedly responsible for the death of every adorable kitten and puppy in the western hemisphere. “There’s tofu in that” wailed Sam. He put some on his plate, tried to eat the peppers without consuming any tofu molecules, and gave up. Rob tried manfully, but couldn’t eat it either. They were both visibly disappointed that they had smelled the curry, anticipated the curry, possibly fantasized about the curry, and were now unable to eat the curry. My first reaction was basically “oh, for God’s sake you can’t even taste it,” but I now understand that to them, tofu is as repulsive and inedible as, say, pork rinds or beef fat are to me. Lesson learned. I gave Rob my chicken, ate most of the offending curry myself, and vowed to keep my tofu to myself.

On another topic: I am completely over summer. I will miss the fresh, beautiful produce, to be sure, but I am ready for soups, stews, casseroles, squash, cider, apples, snuggling, pumpkins, football, coziness and all that jazz. I will miss only the fresh herbs and my  ever-present flip flops.

Adieu!

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

4 responses »

  1. Hi Annie (it’s like meeting Oprah!),

    I teach Art (ceramics, photo, drawing etc…) and design for a company to whom large corporations outsource their ID.

    Thanks for keeping my entertained all summer! BTW, I totally made your Icebox Cake for my family reunion this summer!

    Jusqu’à ce que nous rencontrons encore!

    Reply
  2. heheheh Rob invited me to be sure and read this entry. I’m still smilin’ over The Samster’s exclamation, “There’s tofu in that!”

    You have trained your men too well! Being older and considerably less wiser, I am unable to identify tofu in any form, and would have probably enjoyed your creation with gusto! (that is, unless I was sitting next to Sam, who then, could/would point out tofu’s failings and yuckiness)! tonyn

    Reply
  3. arolyn,

    We like art teachers at our house. I think I have a better grasp of what that means than I do of the Instructionial Design work, but I’m always up for learning something new, even if it doesn’t involve food.

    I hope that I will continue to amuse you. I don’t have much in common with Oprah other than living in the midwest and being involved in charity work, but I am flattered at the comparison. If you have a chance, try the icebox cake again before the summer’s over, and use chocolate Teddy Grahams and strawberries or raspberries. Adieu, encore une fois. (Or is it “encores une fois – I’m rusty).

    Tony, I keep telling you that if you would just get yourself here, I’d feed you lots of good things. Tofu is, however, of the Forest Street menu unless I am dining alone.

    Reply
  4. ya know – i have come to the conclusion that tofu kinda sucks. it’s hard to digest and is highly processed. plus it only tastes good if you further mess with it past its already messed with state. so that is what i think of tofu even though you never asked… !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

