RSS Feed

Comfort Food II: Phoning It In

Today I am just exhausted for a variety of reasons, and I still have a (yet another) Ice Cream Social to attend between football practice and dinner. I am still campaigning for Comfort Food in all of its unsophisticated loveliness, but I don’t have time to write a proper recipe. I will therefore refer you here to the recipe for my uber Comfort Food, homemade macaroni and cheese. You may not need teeth to eat it, but you need love to make it well.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

4 responses »

  1. since all this blogging i have realized that there are some things i have just never ever made and mac cheese is one of them which in a way is probably a very good thing. but the recipe sounds so damn good and easy!!! there’s this woman delilah that oprah had on her show. supposedly this recipe is a big deal… http://www.recipezaar.com/68993

    Reply
  2. When I was a kid, my mom made a snack with graham crackers and chocolate icing: cocoa, powder sugar, vanilla and a little water, mixed well. Break a graham cracker in half and spread some icing on one half then place the other on top. Quick, easy and so good! She made these when we had a bad day or were celebrating something or other. Even as adults, if my brother, sister, or I are sick or are having a bad time for whatever reason, Mom shows up on our doorstep with a plate of these, and for a little while at least, all is right with the world! I make them for my kids, now.

    Reply
  3. Homemade macaroni and cheese are my two kids’ favorite comfort food. Maggie and Jack love it when Karen makes it, even though it’s a pain to clean the glass pan (my duty).

    Aneil

    Reply
  4. Hey Claudia,
    I looked at Delilah’s recipe, but I am skeptical – her recipe is more of the “meat and three” variety than mine, and its probably great, but I’m pretty intensely involved with mine. Try both and let me know what you think – the kids will like it, unless they are like my stepdaughter who would not eat mine, only Kraft.

    Cyd, that sounds yummy – I’ve made those for Sam when I had leftover frosting, but it never occurred to me to just make the whole thing, frosting and all. Thanks for visiting AND bringing a recipe!

    Ah, totaltrust – it is a pain to clean the pan, but you and Karen must have the same deal we established 20 seconds after deciding to get married: the cook does not clean up. Perhaps that’s part of why the two of you have been married so long? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

