RSS Feed

Menu Planning, Week 14

I know that you have all been on the edges of your seats waiting to hear about our week-long comfort food experience, but I am short on time today (I actually have a real job, sort of) and so I’ll just give you the plan for next week’s menu. In the serendipitous but unlikely even that someone cancels something, I’ll sit back down and write about this week’s meals.

In addition to my usual goals of buying what’s fresh, what’s on sale, and having one veggie and no more than two red meat dinners, I am now looking at the overall healthiness of every meal. For that reason, I am relying mostly on “Cooking Light” and the Isabel’s Cantina cookbook. Of course, I also have to avoid starving/punishing/disappointing the guys, so I am hoping for lots of flavor and general yumminess. I may also have to resort to letting them doctor some foods with extra sugar, butter, cheese, or whatever it takes to make them feel happy and QUIET.

Saturday

Grilled Marinated Pork Tenderloin, Grilled Corn & Black Bean Salad and Canteloupe

Pork tenderloin is on sale this week, so I’ll buy a biggish one, halve it, and butterfly and marinate half for this dinner. I’ll probably invent a marinade – something with some lime, garlic and cumin will go with the salad nicely. The salad is from “Cooking Light,” and both corn and canteloupe are local and delicious right now.

Sunday

Baked Potatoes with Broccoli Cheese Sauce and Orange, Avocado, red Onion & Lettuce Salad

This is our vegetarian meal, and there will have to be lots of potatoes and sauce available to make it look like a real meal to Rob. Lots of extra shredded cheese, and maybe even some bacon (although I’ll pass). Its also a pretty hearty salad. I think everyone will find the strength to live another day after this dinner. If not, there’s always panhandling downtown to earn Oreo money.

Monday

Roast Chicken, Mashed Potatoes and Zucchini My Husband Will Eat

Still debating whether to make the mashed potatoes as I usually do (you don’t want to know) and fill up on chicken and zucchini, or try to lighten up the potatoes a bit so that I can have a normal serving. I’m telling you, they can smell a substitution a mile away.

Tuesday

Beef Burgundy, Egg Noodles, Glazed Carrots

The Beef Burgundy is a “Cooking Light” recipe, and if Sam hates it (he is not, traditionally a fan of pearl onions and mushrooms) I’ll just give him some noodles with butter and cheese and some carrots. I am also feeding my parents tonight, so I needed something tempting and not spicy.

Wednesday

The Sam

Rob will be out of town, and its been ages….

Thursday

Three Pepper Pork Cutlets; Pan Grilled Yams and Quinoa with Olives & Onions

Feeding my parents again, so this is a mild but filling set of things. The pork is from “Cooking Light,” and both the yams and the quinoa are from Isabel’s Cantina. The cutlets will be made from the other half of Saturday’s tenderloin.

Friday

Cumin Panko Chicken, Confetti Rice, Sauteed Spinach

The chicken is from Isabel’s Cantina, the rice from “Cooking Light,” and the spinach will be devised on the spot depending on what’s left in the kitchen at the end of the week.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

2 responses »

  1. What a fun Blog. I love to cook AND EAT. I’m going to try some of your recipes. The beef burgundy sounds heavenly.

    Reply
  2. Sharon, thanks! The Beef Burgundy is good, and I’ll have more light dinner recipes in weeks to come. Also some no-so-light dinner recipes. Its the yin and yang of calories?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

