RSS Feed

Menu Planning Week 15

Its Thursday again; time to plan next week’s dinners based on what’s on sale, in season and reasonably healthy. Mostly. Boneless, skinless chicken breasts are on sale this week, squash and apples are in season, and we are all feeling the need for a little more spice. Here’s what we’re eating on Forest Street next week:

Saturday

Marinated, Grilled Chicken Breasts and Risotto with Roasted Butternut Squash and Leeks

I saw the risotto recipe here, and have been fantasizing about it ever since. Butternut squash is in season, and on sale at the grocery store, and its a good division of labor on a busy Saturday for me to tend to the risotto while Rob grills the chicken.

Sunday

Beef Curry, Rice and Apple, Cashew and Coconut Salad with Lime

We just love the curry, and that’s okay. I am going to try it with light coconut milk this time, to see if there’s any significant difference. As for the salad, its something I get to eat once a year at a little (but great) Thai restaurant near Troy, Michigan called Pi’s Thai. (Except for last year, when Mr. Pi was tragically out of apples on my one day in Troy). It consists of sliced green apples, cashews, unsweetened coconut and a dressing of lime juice. I think that’s all.

Monday

Feta-Stuffed Chicken, Broccoli and Rice

The chicken recipe is from “Cooking Light,” and looks pretty flavorful, so I’ll go low-key with plain rice and probably steam the broccoli a little and then sautee it in olive oil with garlic.

Tuesday

Macaroni and Cheese and Green Salad

If you ask Rob what he wants included in a week of menus, he says “curry.” If you ask Sam, he says “mac and cheese.” Last time, I tried making the macaroni and cheese with Panko instead of regular bread crumbs, which we all found a bit too crispy. We also decided, as a group, that we prefer the dish made in a deep, round casserole rather than a 9×13 pan, because we like the gooey creamy-to-crunchy ratio better in a deeper container with less top surface area. Finally, I am going to use at least half smoked cheese of some sort, just because I need a change.

Wednesday

Chicken and Ham Tetrazzini and Green Salad with Pears, Goat Cheese and Toasted Pecans

This could go one of two ways. If it continues to be Indian Summer, I might just sautee the chicken and deglaze the pan with a little white wine and lemon juice, make the pasta with garlic and olive oil, and freeze the ham. If there’s a nip in the air, and we feel all cozy and casserole-y, we’ll have Tetrazzini (another from “Cooking Light”).

Thursday

Seven-Layer Tortilla Pie

Beans, tortillas, cheese, vegetables, and everybody’s happy. I’ll probably crank up the amount of Anaheim chile and increase the cheese on Rob and Sam’s part.

Friday

Cook’s Night Out

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

2 responses »

  1. Looks like a good week. I love how you tweak things — like adding some smoked cheese to the Mac and Cheese. I’m a same-old-same-old kind of cook. I just don’t think to tweak.

    Reply
  2. Barbara,

    Thanks! Cooking is my creative outlet, and I lose my mind if I don’t try new things. That being said, its not a moral issue – my family would be delighted to eat the same things over and over again, I make changes and try new things for my own selfish enjoyment, but I require an audience and I do pout and sulk when they don’t like what I make….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

