RSS Feed

Menu Planning Week 19

Its still fall, still the right time to buy local apples, cauliflower, and squash and to think pumpkins. I am fairly constantly baking pumpkin bread, muffins, etc., and when (if?) I get back to writing more often I’ll post some of what I’m making.

In heavy rotation at the moment is a cookbook I sort of forgot about and then re-discovered. Its a Gooseberry Patch publication called Flavors of Fall, and includes recipes submitted by Gooseberry Patch customers all over the country. (Note: I feel a little defensive owning up to my deep love of Gooseberry Patch merchandise, and I promise that my house is not full of country ducks, but I do love many of their vintage reproduction items and get a rush just looking through their catalogue. So sue me).

I readily admit that some of the recipes in the book tend towards the canned soup and processed cheese genre, but many do not, and it is a great resource for recipes using fall ingredients and focusing on fall activities like tailgating and Halloween.

Here’s what we’re eating on Forest Street this week:

Saturday

Prize-Winning Pot-Roast and Homemade Applesauce

We loved Mark Bittman’s pot roast, but this fall-ish recipe from Flavors of Fall really intrigued me. Chuck roast is on sale, which makes it thrifty, and potatoes and carrots cook along with the roast, which means I have a complete meal in one pot at the end of a busy Saturday.

Sunday

Chicken Curry and Green Peas Rice

Sunday is a pretty busy day – church, pancake breakfast at church, and Sam’s last football game of the season. I have a quick chicken curry recipe that’s okay, but kind of bland, so I’m going to try this recipe from Simply Recipes with extra curry powder. As an accompaniment, I’m making an Indian rice and peas dish that completes our meal. I am probably mixing Indian cuisines and flavors in some inept and horrifying way, but on this particular night I am looking for quick and delicious above authentic.

Monday

Rigatoni Bake and Sauteed Broccoli

This is going to be a pretty break-neck kind of day in our little world, and I’m all about dinner that can be assembled in advance and baked in 30 minutes when we get home. Its another Flavors of Fall recipe, and while I’ll probably make a couple of changes to make it zippier (homemade marinara instead of jarred, and smoked mozzarella instead of regular) I think it will be quite nice. It also gives us our vegetarian meal of the week, and I will be able to chop and sautee broccoli, garlic and onions while the pre-assembled rigatoni bubbles in the oven.

Tuesday

Moroccan Marinated, Sauteed Chicken Breasts, Cous-Cous and 2-Headed Salad

Okay, so I am all over the Moroccan theme with the chicken breasts marinated with Moroccan spices, and the cous cous, and then I make a pretty un-Moroccan salad straight from Fort Wayne, Indiana by way of Gooseberry Patch. I’m not going to apologize or justify what I’m doing; I’m merely acknowledging that I am aware of what I’m doing. I have a leftover head of cauliflower in my crisper, and bacon is on sale. Since I’ve made the salad before, and can vouch for its quality, here it is:

2-Headed Salad

Please Note: plan ahead, as this needs to refrigerate overnight!!

(from Loree Matson of Fort Wayne, Indiana, included in the Gooseberry Patch Flavors of Fall cookbook)

  1. 1 head lettuce, chopped (you may certainly use Romaine if you are deeply offended by the idea of iceberg lettuce)
  2. 1 head cauliflower, chopped
  3. 1 sweet onion, chopped
  4. 1 lb. bacon, crisply cooked and crumbled
  5. 1 1/2 cup mayonnaise (I use light)
  6. 1/4 cup sugar
  7. 1/3 c. grated Parmesan cheese

Layer ingredients in a bowl in the order listed; cover and refrigerate overnight. Gently toss when ready to serve. Serves 4.

Wednesday

Hot Po-Ta-Toe Soup and Ghostly Biscuit Bites

Well it is Halloween!

Thursday

Autumn Apple Pork Chops, Caramelized Acorn Squash and Quinoa

The pork chop recipe is a very simple one from the cookbook of the week, and the squash is the way I usually make it. I’m not sure what I’ll do with the quinoa, but I can tell you that it will not be deep fried, mixed with bacon and mayonnaise or topped with cheese sauce.

Friday

Cook’s Night Off

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

Leave a Reply

