RSS Feed

Seven Random Things Meme

I am supposed to be writing about Thanksgiving dinner today, but I’m having a hard time getting fired up about dinner for 6 – my parents, Sam, Rob and me, and a friend of the family who just lost his wife to cancer. My brother and his family would have bumped us up into the 12-ish person range, but they’re going to be with my sister in law’s family for Turkey Day.

I know at this point that I will make a turkey (free range and brined), two kinds of stuffing (chestnut-sausage and “plain), mashed potatoes, gravy, sweet potatoes, brussel sprouts, cranberry relish and at least two pies. Next Wednesday I’ll publish my countdown for getting everything done in time, but unless we can find more guests wandering the streets in search of a good turkey dinner, I wont be breaking a sweat over this one.

So

I am excited to say that Barbara at Bless Us O Lord has tagged me for a meme. Never mind that I asked her to tag me; it still counts, right? I have been DYING to be tagged since I started blogging in June. Its like when the really smart, interesting girl in your English class asks if you want to do the Shakespeare project with her, or the really cool mom from your kid’s kindergarten class asks if you want to power walk with her some time. Thank you, Barbara, for making me feel like one of the “in” crowd.

Here, then, are seven random facts about me:

  1. I am allergic to chlorine, and can’t swim in pools. This problem was discovered during a summer in London when I was 9 years old, and had spent a lot of time swimming in a public pool which was heavily chlorinated  because, as my complimentary socialized medicine pediatrician told my parents, of the likelihood that my fellow mermaids and mermen had various communicable and infectious diseases.  Every few years I test myself to see if I still break out in hives, and so far, I still do.
  2. I was a very serious, classical musician for a long time (a cellist). During high school I played in the orchestra and in various string quartets, and during my senior year I played as a soloist with the orchestra and gave a recital. I was accepted into two conservatories, went to one for a year and a half, realized I had made a terrible mistake, and transferred into life as an English major.
  3. On “right brain/left brain” tests I always come out dead center. Every time.
  4. I have never played a team sport in my life but I have coached soccer.
  5. I have no tolerance for alcohol, and can maybe have one drink in an evening of socializing. Otherwise I a) fall asleep and b) feel wretched the next day. This is okay with me, and I’m a cheap date.
  6. I taught myself how to read when I was 4, and I taught my brother how to read when I was 8 and he was 4 because I was tired of reading him the book about fire trucks all the time.
  7. I am in a politically “mixed” marriage. I am the lefty.
About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

3 responses »

  1. I like your meme random facts and am envious of your No. 3 abilities, laughed when I read No. 6, and am sympathetic to No. 7 (putting aside the part about everyone gets to have an opinion and widening our horizons, blah blah, I find myself getting pretty heated up when my SO and I don’t agree on political issues, which happens occasionally/frequently).

    Now I’m going to go look up what a meme is… junemoon

    Reply
  2. Great meme, Annie. I had no idea you were a lefty. Hmmm. I guess I need to start reading your other blog to see what THAT’s all about. Or maybe you’re a quiet lefty? I better not go there.

    Reply
  3. junemoon, the right brain/left brain thing actually complicates things. It may explain what I am a lawyer who hates law because its not more creative. I do not discuss politics with my husband any more; we know better. It was sexy when we were dating, but then I was going home to my own house. Now I do my lefty stuff on my own time and with “my people,” but I have given up on converting him, and I think he has done the same. Its all fine unless we are trapped somewhere (like an airport waiting area) where the TV is on “Face the Nation.”

    barbara, don’t worry; I am not an aggressive or exclusive lefty, otherwise I could associate with neither my husband nor my best friend. I promise there is nothing political in my other blog; as I told junemoon (above), at this point in my life ir is more important for me to keep the peace with people I care about then it is for me to make big political points.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

