RSS Feed

Menu Planning Week 21

This week I start out with some “stock” on hand; chicken breasts in abundance, leftover homemade sauce from last week’s Pasta All’Amatriciana, half and half from making pumpkin bread pudding, and two unused butternut squash. In addition to my desire to use those things up, I am, as always, planning meals that use what is fresh and seasonal, what is on sale at our grocery store, and that give us no more than two red meat meals and at least one vegetarian meals. This week I am relying heavily on recipes from my brand new Bon Appetit Cookbook (I am so in love with it that I may have to book us a room) which I won in a raffle over at Baking and Books (thank you, Ari!!).

Here’s what we’re eating on Forest Street this week:

Saturday

Macaroni and Cheese and Broccoli with Sesame Seeds and Cracked Red Pepper

The macaroni is my standard, and the broccoli recipe is from my new best friend, The Bon Appetit Cookbook. This gives us our vegetarian meal, and lets me make good use of the organic broccoli on sale this week.
Sunday

Pasta with Hot Sausage Sauce;  Semolina Bread and Salad

This will use up my leftover sauce (which may need to be reconstituted with a little red wine and “store bought” organic tomato sauce),  sausage is on sale, and I will splurge on a loaf of Semolina bread which I could probably make, but probably won’t on this particularly rich and full day when I will be scrapbooking with friends all afternoon.

Monday

Butternut Squash Soup with Cider Cream and Homemade Bread

This will use up the two squash(es?) staring at me reproachfully from the counter-top. The recipe (another from Bon Appetit) calls for both heavy cream and sour cream; I’ll use up the half and half and light sour cream in the refrigerator. Honestly, Sam may or may not eat this, but he will eat a sandwich made of fresh hot bread with peanut butter and honey, so I have no reason to believe that a mutiny will occur.

Tuesday

Chicken Paprikas, Egg Noodles and Roasted Sprouts and Cauliflower with Orange

A grand slam: this is a healthy dinner (its not the traditional paprikas with sour cream), it uses up some of the chicken breasts, egg noodles are on sale and the vegetables are seasonal.

 Wednesday

Beef Curry, Basmati Rice and Thai Cabbage Slaw

I’ll make my current version of curry using some on-sale steak (which means I can make it faster than I can when I use cheaper, tougher beef), I always have basmati on hand, and the slaw is from…you guessed it…Bon Appetit.

Thursday

Braised Chicken in Sun-Dried Tomato Cream, Risotto and Salad

This will use up four more chicken breasts, as well as the balance of the half and half. I am sure Sam will be horrified by the vision of chicken in pink-ish cream sauce, so I will most likely reserve one braised but un-sauced piece for his delectation.

Friday 

Fish Tacos and Fresh Pineapple Slices

I have made fried fish tacos before, and they were actually pretty good, but now I have a recipe and that recipe comes from one of my cooking goddesses, Lynne Rosetto Kasper of “The Splendid Table.” I have not yet made the recipe, and can’t vouch for it, but you can check it out here. (You should see her site anyway, and listen to the show, and worship the ground she walks on if you have not already).  The fish is on sale, I already have most of the other ingredients, and whole pineapples are on sale.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

One response »

  1. I’ve made the Butternut Squash soup with Cider Cream many times. It is really really really really good. mmmmmmmmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

