RSS Feed

Random Dinner Snapshot: Chicken Paprikas, Buttered Egg Noodles and Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Cauliflower

I am getting close to the halfway point of NaBloPoMo, and so far I’ve only had one day when I really, really didn’t want to write and had to force myself. On the plus side, I’ve plumbed my depths for ideas about food from cookbook selection to memories; on the negative side I have written some lower quality entries than I would in an ordinary month.

I have designated Tuesdays, during this marathon of blogging, as Random Dinner Snapshot days. Today’s dinner was from my brand new BonAppetit Cookbook which I won in a raffle. I made Chicken Paprikas, buttered noodles with poppy seeds, and Roasted brussel sprouts and cauliflower with orange.

paprikas.jpg

The paprikas is a dish with which I am well familiar, having come from a long line of Hungarian cooks. Although the recipe notes (and it is true that) the traditional recipe calls for sour cream and bacon fat, the dish has always been sour cream -free in my family, most likely because the Hungarians of my ancestry were Jewish, and would not have mixed dairy and meat in the same dish. This version is similar to what my grandmother and mother made, although it involves more peppers than I remember. (It still, by virtue of all of the tomato and pepper tastes more Italian than Hungarian to me, but its yummy). Both the paprikas and the roasted vegetables are healthy recipes, and I tossed the egg noodles with Smart Balance and poppy seeds, so this meal is a good choice for anyone watching fat grams and calories.

Chicken Paprikas

(from The Bon Appetit Cookbook by Barbara Fairchild)

  1. 4 large skinless boneless chicken breast halves (about a 2/3 pound)
  2. All purpose flour
  3. 3 tablespoons olive oil
  4. 2 red, yellow or green bell peppers, cut into strips
  5. 1/2 medium onion sliced
  6. 4 garlic cloves, chopped
  7. 5 teaspoons Hungarian sweet paprika
  8. 1/4 teaspoon Hungarian hot paprika
  9. 1 1/4 cups low-salt chicken broth
  10. 1 cup chopped, drained Italian plum tomatoes
  11. 1 tablespoon tomato paste

Sprinkle chicken with salt ad pepper. Coat with flour, shaking off excess. Heat oil in large, heavy skillet over high heat. Add chicken and sautee until brown and crisp, about 4 minutes per side. transfer chicken to plate. Add bell pepers, onion and garlic to skillet; saute 5 minutes. Reduce heat to low. Add both paprikas and stir 2 minutes. Mix in broth, tomatoes and tomato paste. Return chicken to skillet. Brink liquids to simmer. Cover skillet and simmer gently until chicken is just coked through, about 8 minutes.

Transfer chicken to platter; tent with aluminum foil to keep warm. Increase heat to high and boil until sauce coats spoon thickly, about 8 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Spoon sauce over chicken.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Cauliflower with Orange

  1. 1 large head of cauliflower (about 2 pounds) cut into 1-inch florets
  2. 1 pound fresh brussel sprouts, or frozen thawed and patted dry (I used fresh)
  3. 1/4 cup olive oil
  4. 1/4 cup minced shallot (about 1 large)
  5. 2 garlic cloves, minced
  6. 1 tablespoon grated orange peel (I started my prep work only to discover that someone had eaten the orange I purchased to make this dish, so I subbed lime zest. I guess my version is “with citrus” rather than “with orange”)
  7. 1/2 cup fresh orange juice
  8. 1/3 cup fresh Italian parsley
  9. Orange slices for garnish (again, not so much in my version)
  10. Additional chopped fresh Italian parsley for garnish

Combine first 6 ingredients in large bowl; toss to coat. (Can be prepared 2 hours ahead. Let stand at room temperature.)

P reheat oven to 450 degrees. Spread vegetables on large rimmed baking sheet. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast until lightly browned and almost tender, stirring once, about 12 minutes. Pour orange juice over. Roast until vegetables are tender and juices evaporate, about 8 minutes longer. Stir in 1/2 cup parsley. transfer to sering dish. Garnish with orange slices and additional parsley and serve.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

5 responses »

  1. That looks like heaven! Invite me to dinner, pleeease.

    Reply
  2. i have chicken breasts and brussel sprouts in the fridge just begging to be made into these dishes, so i suppose i know what tonight’s dinner will be. but i am definitely adding that sour cream to mine! my thighs are shot anyway, a few more ounces won’t matter in the least LOL
    thanks for all the wonderful shares!

    Reply
  3. Barbara, you aren’t that far away – my uncle lives in Colombus, and I think its about a 6 hour drive. Just jump in the car after lunch and you’ll be here in time for dinner. I think you could use a night off, so you’re invited here any time.

    jayedee, I say go for it! I was just describing the dish to my (Hungarian Jewish) mother, who was quick to remind me that our paprikash consisted on chicken fat (schmaltz), chicken parts, onions, broth and paprika. She’s right, but whatever this is, its good!

    Reply
  4. I was looking for a new and original brussels sprouts recipe – and it seems that I’ve found it!
    I love the idea of using orange peel, and can’t wait to try this recipe out for my Christmas dinner.
    Thank you for your inspiration!

    Reply
  5. Gemma, welcome and thanks! It really was good, and I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. Its kind of an awesome responsibility to be the inspiration for a veg at your Christmas dinner, though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

