RSS Feed

Menu Planning Week 22

This is a Big Cooking week in my life since I am solely responsible for the Thanksgiving meal. When I have a week like this I tend to go a little “simple, repetitive, low stress” with my cooking for the rest of the week. I am still looking for what is seasonal, local and on sale, and for no more than 2 red meat meals and at least 1 vegetarian meal. I am also still relying extensively on my shiny new Bon Appetit Cookbook, which (so far) seems to be on its way into the pantheon of recipe sources in my kitchen. Here’s what we’re eating on Forest Street this week:

Saturday

Pizza

I am watching my niece and nephews for the day while their parents go to a football game in Ann Arbor, and going to my niece’s 7th grade play in the evening. Somewhere between watching football and The Theater lies a pizza in a box.

Sunday

Rigatoni with Tomatoes and Vodka Sauce, Salad with Oil and Vinegar, Semolina Bread

This is a Bon Appetit recipe for pasta, and while its my understanding that the vodka cream sauce (so chic in the 90s) is not actually all that Italian, its yummy and easy.

Monday

Spiced Morroccan Chicken with Onions and Prunes, Cous Cous and Lemon-Glazed Brussel Sprouts

This is an exotic but easy, easy recipe from the Bon Appetit book, whence comes the brussel sprout recipe, as well. Sam will probably have plain chicken and cous cous. Brussel sprouts are in season, and I still have chicken breasts in the freezer.

Tuesday

Carribbean Black Beans and Rice with Red-Onion Jalapeno Relish, French Bread and Fresh Pineapple

Our vegetarian meal for the week, again from Bon Appetit. Cheap, too, except for the pineapple.

Wednesday

Shepard’s Pie and Green Salad

This is a busy cooking day, in some ways busier than Thanksgiving Day itself. I need a no-brainer, no-fuss dinner of ground beef, canned corn and (are you there, Barbara?) ready-made Bob Evans mashed potatoes, which are on sale. Its more important to be sane than perfect.

Thursday

Turkey Day!!!!!!!!!!

Friday

Leftovers, Napping and No Shopping

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

Leave a Reply

