RSS Feed

Random Dinner Snapshot: Life Happens

I had planned this interesting, vegetarian, Carribean black bean and rice dish for dinner, but I kept seeing the brave faces of my guys who, two nights ago ate Penne with Vodka Sauce that still tasted a little like vodka (according to the wise claudia, I could have cooked it off over high heat, but I swear that the recipe never indicated that the temperature should be above a “simmer” once the alcohol was added), and last night ate a Moroccan chicken dish with prunes in it and a side of Brussel sprouts. So they have had an inappropriately alcoholic dinner and a fiberama. They need a down-market, anti-haute break.

As if in response to my thoughts, I received an e-mail as part of a recipe exchange in which I’m participating. It required ingredients I had in the house (although I did go out and buy an avocado), cooked in the crock pot in exactly the amount of time I had before dinner, and seemed to be a good combination of tasty and un-exotic. Here it is:

  1. 4-5 boneless chicken breasts
  2. 1(15 1/2 ounce) can black beans
  3. 1 (15 ounce) can corn
  4. 1 (15 ounce) jar salsa, any kind
  5. 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese (I used reduced fat)

Take 4-5 frozen, yes, frozen, boneless chicken breasts and put into crock pot.
add 1 can of black beans, drained, 1 jar of salsa, 1 can of corn drained.
Keep in crock pot on high for about 4-5 hours or until chicken is cooked.
Add 1 package of cream cheese (just throw it on top!) and let sit for about 1/2 hour.
Shred the chicken with two forks, while still in the crockpot.
Serve in tortillas or dip chips in it. Or, you can just eat it by itself.
Serves 4.

best-crockpot.jpg

I chose to serve it with grated cheese and avocado with chips as a bed or a dipping utensil. It was a little runnier than I had expected, and somewhat soup-like; if this is not to your liking, you can remove the lid and cook longer on high heat to reduce some of the liquid. It was also a bit bland for us in its original incarnation, and I added a great deal of hot sauce.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

4 responses »

  1. I’m glad YOU got a recipe, Annie! I didn’t.

    Reply
  2. Barbara, its not over yet…have a little faith:)

    Reply
  3. Your rationale behind what can and can’t be posted, recipewise, makes sense to me.

    Thanks for all of your hard work and research.

    Reply
  4. Thanks, jolynna. It means I have to be a little careful, but I would want folks to respect my work, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

