RSS Feed

Panino Tacchino

Okay; that just means “turkey sandwich,” but its a good one. You have to admit it sounds better in Italian.

Today I had an odd assortment of things to use up, and had just discovered that you can use a Foreman Grill as a pretty good panini maker. Here’s what I did (no pic – it was eaten rapidimente):

Panino Tacchino

  1. Two big slices of hearty, crusty Italian bread, ciabatta or foccacia (best cut in half horizontally for maximum crust rather than in conventional slices)
  2. Leftover roast turkey (you could use deli meat, but please not the slimy kind)
  3. Three slices Provolone
  4. Fresh Basil
  5. Fresh Rosemary
  6. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  7. 2 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan, Romano or other hard Italian cheese
  8. Salt

Heat Foreman Grill, panini maker, or pan. Drizzle extra virgin olive oil over insides of both slices of bread and rub both sides with garlic. Discard garlic. Sprinkle grated cheese on one slice of bread. One top of grated cheese layer turkey, several un-cut basil leaves, about 1 tablespoon Rosemary, a sprinkling of salt, and three overlapping pieces of Provolone. Put slices together to form sandwich, and cook in Foreman Grill, Panini maker or in pan with a second, heavy pan on top. If you use the two-pan method, you will at some point need to flip the sandwich; otherwise, cook until the cheese is melted, slice in half and serve.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

2 responses »

  1. Everything sounds better in Italian 🙂

    Enjoying your blog!
    -Dawn

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Dawn! I am Fauxtalian from way back, but from a peek at your blog I see that you are probably the real deal. Thanks for indulging me! I spent lots of time in Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island, and I quite miss “Wicked Good” as an adjective….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

