RSS Feed

Random Dinner Snapshot: Percatelli with Tomatoes, Onions and Bacon

amatriciana-2.jpg

This is basically a version of Buccatini All’Amatriciana, and my favorite recipe for this dish is Lidia Bastianich’s, which is right here. I tried a different recipe this time; the main difference was that the bacon was cooked first and the onion and garlic were cooked in the leftover bacon drippings instead of olive oil. Next time I’ll probably go back to Lidia’s.

amatriciana-1.jpg

The last time I made this, I had to use regular spaghetti because I couldn’t find the right kind of pasta – buccatini or percatelli – both of which are basically spaghetti that is a hollow tube. I found Pertatelli, and am delighted to say that this was fantastic. I served it with Gran Padano to grate over it, fresh Semolina bread, and a salad of Romaine, chives and carrot peelings with olive oil and Balsamic vinegar.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

3 responses »

  1. Yum. I’ll be trying. Does your young eater complain about PIECES of tomato (as opposed to sauce)?

    Reply
  2. My young eater does, indeed, dislike the “bumps” of tomato. So did I, as a child. The first time I made this (using the other recipe) I used puree instead of diced tomatoes, and everybody liked it better. I think that solves the problem. There’s no point in being so authentic that your family won;t eat what you make….

    Reply
  3. i love pasta – just L O V E pasta…
    love love love it

    put bacon on it and i love it some more…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

