RSS Feed

Menu Planning Week 24

Nothing too exciting about the coming week except that, as my father says, “Christmas is at our throats again” with all of its attendant parties, concerts, shopping, etc.. I go into the week with half a pork loin to cut into chops, half a turkey carcass for broth, and the (sad) knowledge that there just isn’t a whole lot that’s all that seasonal in Michigan right this minute other than head colds. I am, as always, shooting for one vegetarian meal, no more than two red meat meals, and anything fresh and local (sniff), and on sale that I can find. Here’s what we’re eating on Forest Street:

Saturday

Panini and Greens with Gorgonzola Dressing 

Deli meat, Italian bread and Provolone are all on sale, so I’ll make panini in the Foreman grill along with salad and homemade Gorgonzola dressing. (No; Sam will not eat the salad, but he will eat 50 Clementines, so I’m calling it good for that part of the food pyramid).

Sunday

Tortellini en Brodo, Garlic Bread and Romaine with Oil & Vinegar

This is our vegetarian meal, although I will be making the stock from the turkey carcass. Its still vegetarian enough for my purposes. The soup alone won’t be enough for the guys, so I’ll also make my own garlic bread which is just Italian (or other good quality) bread brushed with Extra Virgin Olive oil, rubbed with a cut clove of garlic, and toasted. For the salad, I’m trying Giada di Laurentiis’ Basil Dressing (from my brand new gift) and making a double quantity to marinate pork chops for tomorrow night.

Monday

Marinated, Pan-Fried pork Chops, Risotto and Sauteed Spinach with Red Onion

The chops (cut by me from my great hunk o’ pork) will marinate in Basil Dressing and then sautee in olive oil and garlic while I make some pretty plain risotto. The sauteed spinach recipe is also Giada’s.

Tuesday

Meatloaf, Mashed Potatoes and Peas

All American, beloved by all except, well, Sam who doesn’t like meatloaf.

Wednesday

Breakfast Dinner: Eggs to Order, Bacon and English Muffins

Rob likes to make this kind of dinner, and since he’ll be gone most of next week, leaving me to mind the zoo, I really have no moral problems with letting him make me a little omelette and an English muffin with Smart Balance.

Thursday

Marinated, Sauteed Chicken Thighs, Polenta and Green Beans

 I’ll probably just marinate the boneless, skinless thighs in some Italian dressing, sautee them with garlic and Rosemary, and keep them warm while I make a little sauce with white wine, stock and mushrooms. Should be good with polenta, which may or may not be eaten by the guys. I am broadening their horizons, by force if necessary.

Friday 

Spaghetti with Meat Sauce and Romaine Salad with Carrot Ribbons and Scallions

This is the part where I make Tuesday’s leftover meatloaf reappear in the guise of hideously deformed “meatballs,” to be served in homemade marinara with a salad of chopped Romaine, ribbons of grated carrot, sliced scallions and whatever else I find in the vegetable bin.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

Leave a Reply

