RSS Feed

Looks Like We Made It…

At the risk of channeling Barry Manilow, I am proud to say that I have posted every single solitary day during the month of November. It was not always Pulitzer-worthy, it was not always fun for me, but I did it.

Next month I’m doing it again, only this time its for Holidailies. It helped me, this month, to have a routine, and Lord knows things will be even crazier around here in December than they were in November, so here’s my tentative schedule (she said, as the audience inched towards the very edges of their respective seats, breathless with anticipation):

Saturdays: Book Talk. I will write about a cookbook or food-related book I’ve read recently, and either recommend it or…not. Or I will whine about a cookbook I want that I do not, presently own. Or I will mock a cookbook I have seen at the book store or on amazon that seems to me to be patently ridiculous.
Sundays: Holiday Goodies. I’ll give you a tried and true recipe to make during the holiday season that could be anything from my grandmother’s pecan squares to a great salad to take to a holiday potluck. Or latkes. Or easy cookies to save you from being the Bad Mom with the Entemann’s box at the Holiday Party. If your kids are a) allowed to have a Holiday Party and b) allowed to consumed anything other than fruit, vegetables and bottled water at said Holiday Party.

Mondays: Rants and Raves. It may be a rave about something I love (more local and organic produce available at the grocery store) or a rant about something I hate (people who are snotty, judgemental and rude about people who can’t afford the locally grown and organic produce at the grocery store).

Tuesdays: Random Dinner Snapshot. I liked doing this, and I’m going to keep going. If it was good, I’ll include the recipe as long as I can do it ethically.

Wednesdays: Winter Recipe Day. A soup, a stew, a braise, something hearty and warm that relies on reasonably seasonal ingredients. Something to make your house smell like heaven after day of skiing or sledding or an afternoon of shovelling.

Thursdays: Menu Planning Day, because that’s when I do it.

Fridays: Blogs I Love Day. On this day I will sing the praises of another food blog I like and read regularly. I will try to focus on blogs we do not already know and love.  You know  the famous ones; I like the idea of discovering a hidden gem and bringing it to the attention of eager readers everywhere.

Now that I’ve taken care of business, I owe you one more dessert recipe for the month of November. This came to me via recipe exchange, and while it is not “gourmet,” its genius for two reasons:

  1. Kids can easily help make them
  2. If you keep the ingredients in the house you can always have something ready for all of those “bring something” occasions that are forgotten by you, your children and your spouse until its the morning of the event and you already have a dentist appointment, a deposition and a migraine.

Here you go:

Holiday Buttons

from Wilma

  1. Round or ring pretzels (only found during holidays)
  2. Hershey’s kisses
  3. M&M’s (if peanut allergies are an issue at home or at school, replace m&m’s with Kissables)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

Spread aluminum foil on a cookie sheet. Place round pretzels on the foil. (Usually around 50 fit on a small cookie sheet). Place kisses in the center of each pretzel ring and place in the oven for about 2 minutes. The kisses will NOT lose their shape; they get shiny when they melt. Take them out of the
oven and IMMEDIATELY press an m&m into the center of each kiss so the kiss spreads out and adheres to the pretzel evenly. If there is some resistance, put them back in the oven for 30 seconds. (Note: If you over cook them, the kisses will get too hard to work with; so you can’t leave them alone!)

If you use mini round pretzels you can substitute the bakers kisses that are already unwrapped! But you will get less of the salty pretzel taste and more of the chocolate this way.

HINT: if your kids like this recipe buy all the round pretzels you can find, because they usually sell out before Christmas and don’t return until next November.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

6 responses »

  1. now you’ve done it! i just breathed my sigh of relief that noblopomo was over for the year, and you have to go and talk about holidailies! (which of course i was compelled to sign up for)
    *sighs* oh well, maybe i’m in the blog zone now and it will be easier. i can only hope!

    Reply
  2. Just recently discovered your blog and I wanted to say how much I enjoy it. Looking forward to reading your Holidailies (and will sign up, too!).

    This recipe sounds great–easy AND chocolate (though one wonders what Hershey is doing, if chocolate can be “melted” and still not lose its shape!).

    Reply
  3. jayedee, you did great in November – I was reading every day. You can do it!! That begs the larger question of WHY we do this….

    Ricki, welcome! I’m glad you like the blog. I don’t want to know why Kisses don’t melt, either. Space-age polymers?

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Holidailies « Diet, Dessert and Dogs

  5. Hi Annie ~ I want to say “thank you” for your dedication to your blog as I look forward to checking in and reading your blog plus “congratulations” for meeting your goal of posting every day for an entire month. Wow! Even thinking about making that commitment makes my armpits start to sweat… Sorry that might have been TMI. Nonetheless, GREAT job!! junemoon

    Reply
  6. Thanks, junemoon! I write for a living, (legal stuff) but this is the writing I love to do. As for your armpits; what’s a little disclosure between friends?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

