RSS Feed

Random Lunch Snapshot: Annie’s Italian Pork Sandwich

I originally committed to “Random Dinner Snapshots,” but I’m having a problem with it. We eat dinner around 6:00 or 6:30, and the date changes on WordPress at 7:00. In other words, if I photograph dinner, actually sit down with the family and eat like a civilized and genteel parental exemplar, by the time I’m ready to post its the “next day” and I have missed the deadline for my daily post. For that reason, I decided to do a “Random Lunch Snapshot” today.

sandwich-best.jpg

We had leftover pork chops from last night’s dinner, which had been marinated in Giada di Laurentiis’ Basil Dressing, and pan-fried in olive oil. I also had half a loaf of Italian bread, Provolone, fresh Rosemary, and all the stuff I always have (olive oil, onions, garlic, butter and salt). Here’s what I made:

Annie’s Italian Pork Sandwich

(Serves 2, unless you are emerging from a long fast or have just run a marathon)

  1. 1 thick, boneless, cooked pork chop halved lengthwise (to make two thinner pieces) or 2 thin chops. You could also use sliced, cooked tenderloin.
  2. 4 slices good, crusty bread
  3. 4 slices Provolone
  4. 2 medium onions, sliced into thin rings
  5. 1 clove garlic
  6. Olive Oil
  7. 1 tablespoon butter
  8. About 1 tablespoon fresh or dried Rosemary

Turn on broiler or toaster oven.

Melt butter in a medium sautee pan, add onions and cook over VERY low heat until onions are totally limp and brown but not burned.

While onions are carmelizing, drizzle a bit of olive oil on each slice of bread, cut garlic clove in half and rub the cut side over the oil. Top two slices of bread with a piece of pork. Sliver garlic and scatter atop pork slices. Place all bread slices (pork topped and plain) under broiler until garlic begins to brown and bread starts to look toasty around the edges. Place Provolone slices on top of pork and toast until cheese melts.

When onions are finished, stir in Rosemary and a pinch of salt. Remove from heat.

Remove bread from broiler, top cheese with onion mixture and second slice of bread, and enjoy!

sandwich-second-best.jpg

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

4 responses »

  1. *huge sigh* i had peanut butter and jelly. true, it was a very nice home made blueberry jam, but it was still only pp&j.

    Reply
  2. Oh, jayedee, there are days when I would sell my soul for a PB & J with homemade jam. Actually, my personal gold standard is peanut butter and honey on rye with a cold glass of milk.

    Reply
  3. youcan change the time zone you’re in
    or edit the time stamp
    i use wordpress too… !

    Reply
  4. claudia, I can’t figure it out! (She whined). I know how to get to the part of the dashboard that (I think) is where i would do it, but I’ve never been able to figure it out. I’d like to make it so that the day changed at midnight my time. Is that the time stamp I’d be changing?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

