RSS Feed

“One for the Table”: A Blog I Love

During holidailies, I am writing on Fridays about blogs that I love. There are several that I read regularly that you probably do, too: Orangette, Becks & Posh, The Homesick Texan, Michael Ruhlman, Chocolate & Zucchini, Smitten Kitchen, Simply Recipes…these are not exactly “discoveries” on my part any more than “Citizen Kane” is a cool, under-appreciated, retro movie I am going to introduce to the American viewing public. They are pretty much the “industry standard.”

There are other good food blogs, though, that are not yet on the world’s  radar. I am not really all about the recipes, although I sometimes use them. I am attracted and brought back by really great writing, and a sense of a recipe or food story placed in the context of the world – I don’t just want to know how to make goulash; I want to know where the recipe came from, and if it was changed, and whether it was brought from Hungary on a scrap of paper or relayed by a dear friend.

Recently I discovered “One for the Table” (really more of an e-zine than a blog) which is written and edited by some of the finest writers in America, and interwoven with information about the writer’s strike. Featuring essays, recipes, restaurant reviews, cookbook reviews and pretty much anything else a foodie might want to read, the site’s editor is Amy Ephron,  Laraine Newman is a contributing editor, and writers include Joan Nathan, Amy Sherman (creator and executive producer of “Gilmore Girls”), both of Ephron’s daughters and her sister Delia.

For me, part of the lure of the site is that the essays are beautifully written (of course) and evocative not only in terms of food, but of family and community. At the moment, there is an article about Chanukah that remind me of my mother’s family, and another about my favorite french fries in the whole entire universe, those that come in the paper cone from Benita’s Frites on the Santa Monica Pier. There are beautiful pictures of Paris, and a very funny piece by Jonathan Kass about the eating habits of his family of origin. I find that the (excessive amount of time) I spend reading “One for the Table” is like hanging out in a really great deli with the smartest and funniest people I know, all of whom happen to love food and some of whom know a great deal about cooking it.

“One for the Table” states that it is “[d]edicated to the notion that one of the things that’s wrong with the world is that there aren’t enough waffles in it and everyone should sometimes, not all the time, but sometimes order ‘one for the table’.” I feel that by passing along this great internet tip to you, I am ordering a cyber-waffle for all who dine at my table. Have lots of syrup and butter; you only live once.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

9 responses »

  1. Annie,

    Thanks for introducing this great site (so THAT’s what happened to Laraine Newman. . . ). I notice you favor spelling “Chanukah” over “Hannukah”–are you part Canadian, perhaps? 😉

    BTW, I’d be happy to drive into the city to meet and say “hi” when you come to town if possible. As you said, it really is a great restaurant city (and 3rd in the world for live theatre, if I may say!). If you’d like recommendations for sights or new restaurants, just let me know.

    Reply
  2. Ricki, I’m glad you liked it. Its been amusing me for weeks. I am not Canadian (although I am practically everything else); it was a spelling error. Is that a Canadian spelling?! I would love to meet you in Toronto! When it gets closer, I will def ask you for recommendaitions.

    Reply
  3. Yes, supposedly the “Chanukah” is more Canadian, while the “Hannukah” is more American (or so my Boston cousins tell me).

    Reply
  4. Well, Ricki, I’ve learned something. I’d love to know the reason for the difference….

    Reply
  5. nyc jew here and it’s always been chanukah in my house. chanukkah is a little more jewishy i think.

    anywho – love that site. it’s not a blog though as i can’t add it to my bloglines nor can you comment. but it’s a find and i, once again am grateful to you for pointing it out.

    Reply
  6. I think I just have trouble spelling chanukah – must be the influence of my Catholic father?

    I’m glad you like the site. Its isn’t a blog, but I do love it – I kind of wish it was possible to leave comments because I would love to “talk” to some of those writers….

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Not What I Am Supposed to Write « Forest Street Kitchen

  8. It’s Amy Sherman from Cooking with Amy and Epicurious.com not Amy Sherman-Palladino of the Gilmore Girls…

    Reply
  9. Amy, I am so sorry – completely mortified. It does explain why you write so well about food, though…since that’s what you do for a living.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

