RSS Feed

Tuesday: No Random Snapshot of Anything

I have struck out across the board with my plan to provide a “Random Dinner Snapshot: on Tuesdays during December. No one is actually eating dinner here, because Rob is in San Antonio, I am in charge of a party at Church from 5:30-7:30 and Sam will be at the home of friends eating dinner and being taken to basketball practice. (Thanks, Diane!). I figured I could take a snapshot of another meal, but here’s the thing: I split a can of ravioli with Sam for breakfast, and I’ll probably have a carton of yogurt for lunch, neither of which exactly highlights my culinary artistry.

I had one last idea, which was to photograph the awesome ricotta cookies I made Monday night which accompanied me to a meeting yesterday and will also be attending this evening’s fete. I then discovered that I would not be photographing anything, because Rob took the camera with him to San Antonio. Imagine him thinking that The Alamo was more interesting than my cooking!

So, there will be no snapshots, random or otherwise, of anything today. I will, however, give you my adaptation of the ricotta cookie recipe because I love it. Its easy to do, the cookies are delicious (although in a fairly subtle, adult way) and if you bake them for the least possible amount of minutes they will stay moist for a few days.  The original recipe called for lemon zest instead of orange, and milk instead of orange juice, and I’m sure that would be even subtler than my orange-y version. Here you go:

Ricotta Cheese Cookies

(Adapted from Italian Food Forever)

 Cookie Ingredients:

  1. 2 Cups Of Sugar
  2. 2 Sticks Of Butter At Room Temperature
  3. 1 (15 oz) Container Of Full Fat Ricotta Cheese (I used low fat because its what I had in the house)
  4. 2 Teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  5. 2 Eggs, Lightly Beaten
  6. Dash Of Salt
  7. 1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
  8. 1 Teaspoon Finely Chopped orange Zest
  9. 4 Cups All-Purpose Flour

Glaze Ingredients:

  1. 1 Cup Powdered Sugar
  2. Orange juice
  3. Colored Sprinkles

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Mix all the ingredients together until combined. The dough will be moist. Drop by a teaspoon onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake for about 10 minutes until firm. The cookies will be golden on the bottom, but will remain white on top.

Mix in enough juice to make a glaze that can be brushed. Lightly coat the tops of each cookie with the glaze and sprinkle with the colored sprinkles. Let dry fully before storing.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

9 responses »

  1. Yum! This recipe reminded me of a cookie my mother used to make, with small-curd cottage cheese. The dough was made to look like little croissants, sprinkled with cinnamon. Also very moist and always a big hit! I’m going to see if I can dig out the recipe.

    Reply
  2. Ricki, if you can find the recipe, I’d love to make your mother’s version – let me know if you come up with it?

    Reply
  3. Oh, I definitely have it somewhere (was still on my bookshelf until we moved last month), but I just haven’t found/unpacked the box it’s in yet. I’ll let you know as soon as I find it, hopefully before Christmas.

    Reply
  4. Hi Annie,

    Finally found that recipe! Should I post it here in a comment?

    Ricki

    Reply
  5. Ricki, yes please, if you don’t mind – that way other people can try it if they want to. Thanks!!

    Reply
  6. Hi Annie,

    Here’s the cookie recipe.

    Cinnamon Twists
    This recipe has been in our family at least 30 years–I have it roughly jotted on a piece of paper, so I may have to add some from memory. I haven’t made these in ages, but I do remember loving them!

    2-1/4 c. all purpose flour
    2 tsp. baking powder
    1 c. sugar, divided
    1/2 c softened butter
    1 c. creamed cottage cheese
    1 egg
    1 tsp. vanilla
    2 tsp. cinnamon
    1 Tbsp. melted butter

    Combine the flour, baking powder, 1/4 cup sugar, butter, cottage cheese, egg, and vanilla on low speed of a mixer to form a soft dough. Pat into a disk, cover with plastic wrap, and chill at least 2 hours.

    In a bowl, combine the 3/4 cup remaining sugar and cinnamon.

    Divide the dough into 3 equal portions. Roll each one out on a lightly floured surface to make a 12 inch circle. Brush each circle with the melted butter (I think we needed more than just a tablespoon for all 3 circles), then sprinkle with the cinnamon-sugar mixture, turning the circle over to coat on both sides (I don’t remember doing this–I think I just rolled it out on the cinnamon mixture to get the bottom coated, too).

    Cut each circle into 16 pie-shaped wedges. Roll each wedge starting at the wide end, rolling toward the point to make a crescent-like roll. Cut halway through the top of each roll (perpendicular to the wide edge, as if you’d be cutting it into 2 identical pieces).

    Place on ungreased cookie sheets and bake at 350 F for about 20-25 minutes, until golden on edges. Cool and remove from pans. These freeze well.

    Let me know if you try them–I remember them being rich-tasting and soft in the middle–mmm! Must try to create an alternative version of these!

    Reply
  7. Ricki, I have just been told that I have to bring 50 PEANUT FREE cookies to a school function on Friday. I am SO making these. Thanks!! (They sound like they’d be really nice with a cup of coffee. Or a glass of milk. Or a tumbler of Scotch).

    Reply
  8. That’s great! You must let me know how they came out. I can’t remember what I used to drink with them (those were the days before I said au revoir to dairy), but it definitely wasn’t Scotch. One must savor Scotch all on its own, I say!

    Reply
  9. I bet you had milk. Okay, no single malt with my cookies, but perhaps an espresso.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

