RSS Feed

For the Holidays: Oh, Baby, Is That a Great Breakfast!!

In my family of origin, Christmas breakfast usually involved something called a Big Dutch Baby, which is sort of like a big popover (or Yorkshire pudding) with preserves on it. Everyone got a big chunk of the golden, lumpy, buttery stuff and could embellish it with whatever preserves we had on the table, or fresh strawberries with sugar or (my personal favorite) scalloped apples. I know that there are people who put canned fruit pie filling on their Dutch Baby, but this is a choice I cannot condone. I do not put it in pies, and I don’t want it on my Baby.

The very fact that this dish was good enough to tear us away from freshly opened gifts when we were kids says it all. We sat at the table with our plates on the special-once-a-year felt Christmas place-mats I made with Grammie Graham when I was four. I have to admit that I was always bothered by the name of the dish (had they, at one time, cooked babies in big pans in Holland and eaten then for holiday breakfasts?) but not so bothered that I ever failed to worship and then inhale my portion.

I cannot locate my mother’s original recipe; it may simply have disappeared beneath twenty years’ worth of butter spots and become one with the counter. I have, however, located a recipe that she assures me is one and the same. This recipe gives different amounts of the basic ingredients depending on the size of your pan, but I will tell you now, that unless you are cooking in an E-Z Bake for America’s Next Low-Carb Poster Child, you will want to make the largest possible amount. Buy some really, really good preserves or sautee some apples in butter, sugar and cinnamon as a topping. Maybe some fresh juice and a rasher of bacon or sausage, and you will have a show-stopping Christmas breakfast. Or, just a really great Sunday morning.

BIG DUTCH BABIES

(Adapted from Cooks.com)

FOR 2 TO 3 QUART PAN:

1/4 c. butter
3 eggs
3/4 c. milk
3/4 c. flour

FOR 3 TO 4 QUART PAN:

1/3 c. butter
4 eggs
1 c. milk
1 c. flour

FOR 4 TO 4 1/2 QUART PAN:

1/2 c. butter
5 eggs
1 1/4 c. milk
1 1/4 c. flour

FOR 4 1/2 TO 5 QUART PAN:

1/2 c. butter
6 eggs
1 1/2 c. milk
1 1/2 c. flour

Select the recipe proportions to fit your pan, and get out the ingredients you will need.

Put the butter in the pan and set it into a 425 degree oven after first dusting the pan with nutmeg, then mix batter quickly while butter melts. Put eggs in blender container and whirl at high speed for 1 minute. With motor running, gradually pour in milk, then slowly add flour; continue whirling for 30 seconds.

(With a rotary beater, beat eggs until light and lemon colored; gradually beat in milk, then flour.)

Remove pan from oven with the butter melted and pour batter into the hot melted butter. Return the pan to the oven and bake until puffy and well browned, 20 to 25 minutes.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

6 responses »

  1. God forbid i should lose an ounce at christmas time! reading this recipe, i can just feel my thighs plotting world domination! thanks (i think! lol) and merry christmas!

    Reply
  2. jayedee, this is not the time to be thinking about losing an ounce. Besides, who cares about your thighs when you have Christmas and that BEAUTIFUL new grandchild. Go eat some butter.

    Reply
  3. Imagineannie–I just made a trial run of this this morning. Is it supposed to be puffy when it comes out of the oven and then deflate? Or is it supposed to stay puffy?

    Reply
  4. katiekind, it is supposed to deflate. It would do that the minute you cut into it, anyway, so its okay. I hope you liked it?

    Reply
  5. Oh yes! It was very yummy! I had it with orange marmalade. Mmmm.

    Most of all I love the name!!!

    Reply
  6. katiekind, I’m so relieved – I would feel responsible if you, uhm, hated your Baby. (That just sounds wierd). My dad likes it with marmalade, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

