RSS Feed

Stop the World; I Want to Get Off

More accurately, I am quitting “Holidailies” for reasons that will benefit all of us. It seemed like a good idea at the time, to motivate myself to write an entry every day. I met that goal during November, participating in NaBloPoMo, so it seemed like if I could do November I could do December. I signed up for Holidailies and plugged away. (Edited to add: I see that there are lots of hits for the post, and feel that I’m disappointing folks who are intrigued by the title, assuming I am going to tell an angst-y tale of suicidal despair, only to discover that this is really only about my desire to quit holidailies. I apologize!!).

Therein lies the problem. It is difficult, if not impossible, to reconcile “plugging” with light hearted, capricious and entertaining. If it were my actual job to write an entry every day, I’d do it. If I wrote a “regular” blog about my thoughts on life in general, I could probably do that, too.

The thing about a food blog, though, is that in order for it to be interesting to anyone there have to be some great recipes, great photos and/or great thoughts about food and cooking. At this time of year, my cooking life jumps erratically from throwing sandwiches together between shopping and evening engagements to spending hours creating a Buche de Noel for Christmas dinner. I may have a great deal to say about the latter, but my keen insights into turkey and Swiss on an onion roll are limited.

So I find myself thinking of things to write about, many of which of late have been uninteresting even to me, and that is the kiss of death as far as I’m concerned. I have loved blogging about food because I was excited about everything from what was fresh at the Farmer’s Market to trying out a new cook book for the first time. At the moment, I am occupied with other parts of my life and while I still like nothing more than inventing something wonderful for a meal or a snack, I am not feeling like doing that on command.

Programs like NaBloPoMo and Holidailies are great support for rigor and discipline in writing. I have never had problems with either of those things; I struggle far more with creating something fresh, funny and exciting for my readers and myself. I think its time to take a break, let my creative juices (mostly garlic and olive oil, in my case) begin to flow again, and write when I have something interesting to write. Thanks to all of you who bore with me during the Forced March.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

6 responses »

  1. I came here from Holidailies. Your title struck me.

    You don’t have to write every day. Almost every day is good enough.

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Kitty. That’s heartening – there’s not much left, and I’ve already done most of it…

    Reply
  3. Hi Annie,
    Sorry to hear that you’re leaving. . .you will be missed. But as a big advocate of “self-care,” I can certainly understand.

    I’ll keep an eye out for those times when you do feel inspired! Hope you have a wonderful (very low stress) holiday.

    Reply
  4. Ricki, based on Kitty’s response, I may stick with it, just less frequently. I will still be reading your blog, and (sniff) really do hope you’ll stay with me.

    Reply
  5. oh annie! i bailed on the holidailies too……..early on, in fact. it was just too much on the heels of nablopomo, at least for me. december should be a “stress free zone” and instead i piled more and more on my own shoulders. blechhhhhhh!
    at any rate, light a candle, fill your tub with fragrance and bubbles, play some soft music and be gentle with yourself for the rest of the month. that’s my gift to you! merry christmas!

    Reply
  6. jaydee, I think we’re wired that way. Mom-women, I mean. Maybe all women. At any rate, I’m still considering “dropping in” over there from time to time, but only if I have been visited by actual inspiration. Well, and if I have all my “work” done…thanks for the fantastic gift of permission just. to. be. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

