RSS Feed

Something Controversial

murder-knife-project366-701098-l.jpg

Gentle readers, I am at a crossroads, and asking those of you who are “regulars” to help me make a hard decision. Of course, I am interested in what you think even if you aren’t a regular reader…you slacker.

It is no secret to anyone that I hate my “day job,” and that I don’t even make very much money doing it. (I am sort of a lawyer). My heart is in cooking and writing, and I am getting old enough that its a struggle to look into the rest of my days and see myself slogging away at work that I hate, particularly since its not exactly allowing me to send my kid to Choate and keep a Lexus in the driveway.

I have an opportunity, courtesy of foodbuzz, to make some money doing this blogging thing. Still no private school or Lexus, but a comparable amount of money without having to divide my working time between Hated Day Job and Beloved Cooking and Blogging. The first opportunity comes in the form of a cash reward for most increased hits, and this will largely be measured in April. That means I’ll need a ginormous jump in the number of hits I get this month, and I mean ginormous. If I win even third prize, I will have enough money to bid a joyous farewell to my current vocation, and to buy a computer that actually works. I need help, though. I need ideas about what will bring people, and I need regular readers to pimp me a bit, to the extent that they are willing.

The second opportunity concerns switching to a different host, and allowing foodbuzz to put ads on my site. (WordPress will not allow advertising). Their ads are very tasteful, and I trust them not to set me up with the kind of scrolling, popping, intrusive ads that drive me away from some blogs. This would give me some continuing income from the blog, and let me focus on bringing you all recipes, restaurant reviews, and those bizarre stories that seem to wake me up in the night begging to be written.

So, are you with me? Can I count on you? Will you come with me if I move? Its a big risk, and I would never consider it if I were actually supporting my family, but as long as I’m basically just earning the grocery money, why can’t I try to earn it in a way that doesn’t make me want to put my fist through a wall on a regular basis?

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

22 responses »

  1. Hi Annie ~ I most definitely will follow your blog wherever you may go and will be a regular reader and commenter (is that a word?). I think it’s wonderful that you are considering venturing onto a growth-full spurt with your blogging. junemoon

    Reply
  2. Do it… life is too short. Grab for all the goodies you can get and get yourself working at something you love it will lead to better things.

    Reply
  3. do it! how many hits do you need? do they need to be unique views? if they don’t, i’ll devote and hour a day clicking in and out lol
    (in my best carole king voice) where you lead, i will follow…….any where, that you tell me to. if you need, you need me to be with you, i will followwwwww where you lead!

    no comments, please, from the peanut gallery for my failure to actually carry a tune!

    Reply
  4. hey there. interesting stuff. they approached me too but i’ve been kinda avoiding the whole thing. i think the time has come for us to actually (gasp) TAWK…

    Reply
  5. Follow your heart. The rest of us will follow you.

    Reply
  6. I’ll follow you anywhere as long as there is copious chatter accompanied by a glass of wine once every several months 🙂

    Let us know the wheres and the whens. The tubes of the Internets have your back.

    Reply
  7. do it. go for it!! i am in the same position (job vs. love for baking) as you, except i haven’t been offered anything. hope it all works out and good luck!!

    Reply
  8. Go for it Annie! Sometimes in life its just right to make a change.You have already given this much thought. How could you go wrong? You write so beautifully – its your calling!!

    Reply
  9. Junemoon, thank you. You have been faithful all along, which I appreciate more than I can say.

    jai, that’s what I’m hoping for…I’m getting too old to be a coward about this stuff.

    jayedee, I KNEW I could count on you, my nominator friend…I see you’ve already been hitting the button, which makes my heart sing.

    claudia, you gave me fabulous advice last night, and now I know your real. I haven’t gotten advice and music from a girlfriend since I was in college, and it felt wonderful.

    greentuna, you can have all of that. Pinot okay?

    hina, I haven’t been offered anything that is very solid, believe me, but I’m starting to get enough little prickles at the edges of my consciousness that I think its time to get myself in gear.

    Jan, I sure hope you’re right. People have been trying to tell me writing was my calling since I as a kid, and I kept ignoring it because it didn’t seem like “real work.” Now I get it.

    Reply
  10. Sounds good. It’s not like you can’t go back to your “day job” if it really doesn’t work out. If you don’t try, you’ll never know. Pray on it (seriously).

    Reply
  11. Barbara, I am praying – and not giving up the other job quite yet.

    Reply
  12. Just a lurker, but I’d definitely follow you. I love your site and the idea of someone getting to do what they love!

    Reply
  13. Nancy, there is no such thing as “just a lurker.” If you’re reading my blog, and saying nice things, you’re a regular. (Actually, its okay if you don’t always say nice things; it keeps me honest). So welcome, thanks for the kind words, and feel free to speak up if you feel so moved!!

    Reply
  14. Eric Williams

    Hi Anne,
    I seem to recall your receiving some sort of writing award in High School. You certainly have the writing chops to carry a blog. With the popularity of FoodNetwork, my feeling is that the timing is ripe (or right, I dunno) for this sort of blog. I found this website on Facebook and being in Sales and Marketing, word of mouth is the best advertising and tends to pick up momentum. If you keep your blog continually updated, viewers will make it a habit to check it for new things… Good Luck. Go for it, I say. warm regards from your high school friend.

    Reply
  15. Hey Eric! I keep trying to answer your messages on facebook but for some reason it wo’;t let me. That may be due to the fact that my computer was built in 1912 just like my house. I actually won the “Journalism Award” in high school; I was supposed to get the English Award, but a certain teacher was mad at me because I was going into music instead of English, so he gave it to someone else. I am so glad to be out of high school…

    Thanks for the good advice – there are actually a bazillion food blogs, many with ten times more traffic than I get, but this is a labor of love, and the first “job” I’ve felt that way about. I can give it some time. I would always graciously accept marketing advice, though, in exchange for a great dinner, on me, if I head to SF?

    Reply
  16. Eric Williams

    Hi Ann,
    I’m glad you answered me here on your own blog. I did wonder that I hadn’t heard back on Facebook. I have to tell you I really love your blog. Last night I read aloud to my partner your piece on In the kitchen with Dinah. Usually he hates it when I read to him, but this piece was sooo funny and so, how do I say it?, familiar to us. We’ve learned (or I have at least) that when one of us is cooking the other better be quiet and grateful. No one wants to become dangerous with a big chef’s knife close at hand. Can’t wait for your next entry. Do tell if you come to SF–I would love to see you and meet your family. Big Hug. Eric

    Reply
  17. Eric, I’m so glad you’re enjoying it! “Someone’s in the Kitchen with Dinah” is actually my personal favorite post. We really may head to SF – my father in law lives there, and I haven’t met him yet (after 11 years of marriage), and we have a number of friends in the area.

    Reply
  18. Eric Williams

    Ann,

    Start planning then. I work for a great little hotel, The Powell Hotel. You can see our website at http://www.thepowellhotel.com. I can get our “Family and Friends discount”. I think you would really love it here–there are a billion different restaurants, like going to the Louvre, you never really see it all…remember Diane Scott? She and her family visited last year. Best months here are Sept, Oct.

    Reply
  19. I always say “try”. Regret is so hard to swallow…. do you have a recipe to make it taste better? You can thank Jayedee….. I will be blogrolling you and will try to keep up with you. I enjoy your words!
    Chris….The Original Coffee Company— The place for the freshest Roasted Gourmet Coffees!

    Reply
  20. Chris, I am trying, and I’ve been trying to, uhm, spice up regret for a number of years. I think its time to throw it in the garbage disposal and start making something better. Thanks for your support – I’ll be checking you out, too – we’re pretty obsessed with coffee around here.

    Reply
  21. Just want you to know that Eric Williams directed me to your site.

    Reply
  22. Thanks Donna! Point for Eric…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

