RSS Feed

The Lady is a Tramp


My mother is a Wellesley graduate who shops at Talbot’s, disapproves of both tattoos and piercings, knows which fork to use, and could probably reply correctly to a letter from the Paraclete of Yugolslavia on very nice stationary. She (and my father) taught me early and often about “pretty is as pretty does,” to leave one last bite of everything on the plate for Miss Manners, not to ask for things, and not to appear grasping or greedy.

The thing is, I really, really want to raise this blog to the next level, and that will require a bit of fairly unladylike whoring. (Cover your eyes, Mom). Here’s the deal: I’m running a contest, and in addition to the sublime pleasure of reading whatever falls from my brain on any given day, you will have the opportunity to win this book in paperback. It is a fabulous book (I’ve already read it, but of course not the pristine giveaway copy) and it is recommended for lovers of food, cooking, San Francisco, biographies, or American culture. It is a fine read. Geez Louise, I’ll inscribe it, if you want….

So, what do you have to do to get Alice into your hands?

1. The winner will be the person who sends me the most readers between Monday, April 7 and Friday, April 18th.

2. I will know if you sent me a reader because you will direct them, on your blog, to post a comment on my blog saying that you referred them. If you don’t have a blog, you can just use e-mail. Your friends are then, of course, free to compete with you. That’s the American way.

3. Your readers can come, and be counted more than once, but they have to comment on different posts.

4. On the 19th, I’ll count and get the book in the mail to the winner.

Play with me. If I’m going to act like a tramp, it should at least be worth it….

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

23 responses »

  1. well i never, you shameless hussy, you!
    ok, ok, i have, but just a few times!

    i posted on my blog about your giveaway and i hope it gets you an entire crop of new readers!

    Reply
  2. Thanks, jayedee – the 82 hits didn’t hurt, either. I’m off to plant some jalapenos and lettuce so they can go into the ground in May…you probably have all sorts of things growing all the time but we have just this teeny window.

    Reply
  3. Okay….. Jayedee sent me!!! Good Luck!
    CoffeeCoffeeCoffee–The Blog

    Reply
  4. My friend Jayedee sent me your way. My mom reads my blog every day….damn we must be so careful! Have a good one and good luck to Jayedee.

    Reply
  5. Chris and LeAnn, thanks so much for playing! You will notice that I removed the “tramp” picture…because my mom reads my blog, too….

    Reply
  6. Jayedee gave me 25 dollars to come here and tell you she sent me and…oh, I’m sorry…was I not supposed to say that, jayedee?
    Not really, but if Jayedee doesn’t win this book, apparently she will be needing some form of therapy in her future.
    I love your blog, and especially this post- I’m laughing because my mother would be horrified at some of the things I’ve said online, too.

    Reply
  7. After reading all these comments…if Jayedee doesn’t win it’s some kind of fluke! lol….all i know is that it seems like she desperately wants this book! and the grandmama of my babygirl deserves it 😉 !

    Reply
  8. jayedee sent me! I think she’s got the book by the looks of things! 😉

    Reply
  9. Okay, its looking good for jayedee – geez, I’m glad one of my readers cares enough to send folks my way. (SNIFF).

    Farm Chick Paula, thanks so much; if jayedee requires therapy we can all pitch in and get her what she needs. Maybe Dr. Phil?

    Janissa, you are (I happen to know) the mother of quite a beautiful baby girl. Jayedee deserves all good things, and it looks like she’s destined to get this one….

    earth heart, you might be right, but I am still hoping that maybe, possibly, someone else will be moved by guilt, or love, or pity to send me some of their readers. (She hinted subtly).

    Reply
  10. go green
    go green
    go green
    Please support us

    Reply
  11. Jayedee sent me too.

    But … dang! I missed the tramp pic???

    Reply
  12. Katrina, thanks for coming – and I hope someone returns your iPod or (even better) that you find the scumbag and get a conviction. i removed the tramp because I thought she might offend people…I guess that is probably proof that I am actually more “lady” than “tramp.”

    Reply
  13. merciful heavens! i thought she was a very tame tramp, truth be told………but then again, i live in geneva and we see worse than that at the handyway on friday nights lol……..can you say redneck?

    Reply
  14. jayedee I am laughing so hard that I have a bit of coffee on my monitor. Maybe the tramp will make a triumphant return….

    Reply
  15. Pingback: Ladies Home Masala « Forest Street Kitchen

  16. Eric Williams

    Ok, I’ve officially joined the competition. I hope my email to my friends elicts some responses here ( told them all to indicate in a comment section that I sent them). The gauntlet has been thrown down!

    Reply
  17. i just switched from bloglines to google reader and you didn’t carry over – so i am behind…

    Reply
  18. Annie, thanks for the good wishes about my iPod. I hope so too. However, since I am a big, fat, whiney baby who cannot live without an iPod, I’ve already replaced it, so personally, I’d rather see the guy in jail than get my pretty iPod back. Much as I loved it.

    Reply
  19. Yay, Eric! Jayedee is tough competition, but at least now its really a competition…..

    Reply
  20. hi, i came over from jayedee’s blog. sorry eric, looks like one more for jayedee!

    Reply
  21. The sweet wonderful.. loving JAYEDEE sent me…. GOSH… she’s no competition for me… LOL LOL.. GOOD LUCKY GIRLY!!

    Reply
  22. amyb and Just a Flipflop Mom thanks for visiting! Its still looking mighty good for MIss Jayedee….

    Reply
  23. Pingback: Lemons!!!!! « Forest Street Kitchen

Leave a Reply

