RSS Feed

Lemons!!!!!

The much-anticipated, fresh from California lemons arrived yesterday, and I am delighted. Life has, honestly, been giving me a few figurative “lemons’ this week, and these bright, honest little fruits are very uplifting.

They do not resemble the large-pored, identical, thick-skinned lemons I see in the grocery store in any way. They have tiny little stems in some cases, and one is a sort of “conjoined lemon” that looks more like a little squash of some sort.

I am in love with my lemons. I will now set about using them, because they are not bred to be shipped and saved in refrigerated cases, and they need to be enjoyed ASAP. What a serendipitous kind of emergency to have!

Reminder: There is still lots of time to enter this contest and win a copy of Alice Waters and Chez Panisse.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

12 responses »

  1. Annie ~ Those lemons do, indeed, look like California lemons! One of the components of living here far from my familia and long time friends, are the lemon and other fruit trees that grow so abundantly in the neighbors’ yards. Even after five years of almost daily neighborhood walks, I remain in awe of these little hits of sunshine! What are you going to make with yours? junemoon

    Reply
  2. Ann,
    Those look suspiciously like Meyers lemons. Are they? They have a sweet orangey taste and they’re smaller than “regular” lemons. We have a Meyers lemon tree in our backyard and for the first time in 5 years, it’s bursting with new fruit.

    Reply
  3. i am so jealous!

    ~note to self~ look for lemon tree at the auction tonight

    Reply
  4. I’m so envious — lemon poppyseed bread, lemon bars, lemon curd, lemon meringue pie, lemon chess pie….

    I could really go on forever. I love lemons!

    Reply
  5. i’m thinking meyer lemons – you could try preserving some because they are so so good…

    deb at smitten kitchen recently did a bunch of great recipes with the lemons someone sent her from california…

    Reply
  6. junemoon, as you know, I’ve preserved a bunch; lemon curd is next. I can use that to make all sorts of dessert things, and it keps them from fading before I can get to them.

    jayedee, since you could actually grow lemons, you should absolutely get a tree. Then have a contest on your blog with lemons as a prize and i will turn myself inside out to win them.

    Barbara, the lemon curd is coming…I’ll just have to stop myself from eating it all out of the pot with a spoon before I can do anything with it…

    claudia, as you know by now, I have preserved a bunch. I hope I can wait the WHOLE MONTH while they get preserved before I check them out.

    Reply
  7. Eric, I honestly don’t know. I have never actually had a Meyer, only things (in Florida) that were made with them. I cannot, simply cannot believe (despite pictorial evidence) that people just have lemons growing in their back yards.

    Reply
  8. My friend Marti has an avocado tree in her back yard. Unfortunately, it was never pruned back, so all the avocados are small ones, but every once in a while I make her pick a bunch and we make great guacamole.

    Reply
  9. That lemon tree was planted, like, 6 years ago. The first 3 years, it hardly kept its leaves in the winter (which isn’t like a Michigan winter-just rainy and foggy here). Dale refused to “feed” the tree, preferring to just let Mother Nature decide if it should live or die. Then, miraculously, it blossomed into an incredible tree, providing 2 or 3, then 5 or 6 gorgeous lemons every two weeks. I love making something that requires lemons, rosemary or thyme because I can pretend I’m Michael Chiarello and just blithely go into the garden and harvest what I need. Dale’s Southern upbringing prompts him to tell me “You’re puttin’ on airs about the garden, now–careful!” Ha. I always laugh at that. I guess I’m a Yankee, through and through.

    Reply
  10. Eric, I fantasize about avocado trees. I love them, and (for obvious reasons) they don’t grow here, which is one reason i am not sure I could never really just “eat locally.” I am impressed with your Darwinian lemon tree, and can understand pretending to be Michael Chiarello – sometimes I just pretend I’m WITH Michael Chiarello. Sigh.

    Reply
  11. Hi Ann,
    I wonder if you have a garden? If so, what do you grow? One thing I would always have in Michigan would be tomatoes. For some reason, they don’t grow well here in our microclimate in San Francisco. I know they have HUGE tomato farms in California where the summers are really hot, but not in SF.

    Reply
  12. Gardening is tough here because we have a big house on a small (urban) lot and nothing really gets enough sun during the day. I have a neighbor who owns a (sunny) vacant lot, and I am trying to persuade him to let us use it as a community garden. If I could grow heirloom tomatoes, I would be all over it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

