RSS Feed

What’s For Dinner?

I used to post a weekly menu every week, sometimes adding menus or comments about what I was cooking. After a while (particularly as I entered the fresh produce-free winter slump) I decided that no ones’ world would be rocked by the revelation that my family was having chili mac on Tuesday or lemon chicken on Friday. So I stopped, and there was barely a ripple.

Last week, at a party, I spoke with a young friend of mine who is newly married and has an avid and charming curiosity about the world in general, and cooking in particular. She asked me why I had stopped writing those weekly menus, and said that she “just liked to know what other people were eating.” Being fairly nosy myself (I look into windows when I am walking the dogs at night to admire bookshelves and shake my head at bad paint choices) I fully understand this. I am therefore restoring the weekly menu feature, starting today.

Saturday

Braised Chicken Breasts with White Wine Sauce; Risotto with Asparagus

I don’t really have recipes for either of these; I sautee chicken breasts in olive oil for about 15 minutes (turning every 5 minutes), then I de-glaze the pan with white wine, return the chicken to the pan, season with salt, pepper and maybe some Tarragon, and add enough chicken stock to cover most of the chicken. I then reduce the heat under the chicken to medium-low and let it cook while I make the risotto (usually like this), about 30 minutes tops. I serve the chicken with the risotto and some pan sauce poured over the top. If I’m feeling thin, I add a little cream to the sauce before serving.

Sunday

Broccoli Cheddar Potatoes and Green Salad

This is simple as can be. Bake big russet potatoes, steam some broccoli, make a cheese sauce (white sauce with shredded sharp cheddar), mix the broccoli into the sauce and serve over baked potatoes. Extra shredded cheese or bacon are lovely flourishes, and leftover ham goes nicely into the mix, although I like to serve this as a vegetarian dinner.

Monday

Chicharrones de Pollo, Green Beans and Rice

I have never made chicharrones before, but I found a recipe in the September 2007 issue of “Gourmet” that has been calling to me. It isn’t on “Gourmet’s” website, but I did find it here. I may play with a little saffron action in the rice, and will serve the green beans steamed with a little lemon, butter and good salt.

Tuesday

Pan-Fried Pierogies and Scalloped Apples

Busy day; frozen pierogies. I’ll just sautee them in a pan with some onions, slice and sautee some apples with some butter, brown sugar and cinnamon, and call it good.

Wednesday

Braised Pork Chops with Rosemary; Ditalini with butter and Parmesan and Green Salad

The braised pork chops are prepared much like the braised chicken from Sunday, except that I use Rosemary, and lots of it. I also usually sautee a little garlic in the pan and remove it before starting the pork.

Thursday

Scrambled Eggs with Chorizo and Tortillas (Migas) and Fruit Salad

I have made my own version of Migas many times, but this recipe was in the same issue of “Gourmet” as the Chicharrones de Pollo, and looked pretty fabulous.

Friday

Grilled Burgers, Potato Chips and Fruit

Hey, its a free country. Don’t judge me.

P.S. Is it wrong that I am totally freaked out by the fact that every time the spell-checker finds the word “sautee,” it offers me “suttee” as an alternative?

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

11 responses »

  1. all i can say is that you must really worship that tuesday night dish…

    Reply
  2. Claudia, you are a smartass, but I’ll fix it. Thanks for the heads up…

    Reply
  3. I’m nosy too and your menu looks good. Especially your chops on Wednesday.

    Reply
  4. i’ll not only not judge you…..i’ll confess to burgers and hot dogs on sunday………..AND leftover burgers and hot dogs on monday because i was so crazed canning green beans that i totally forgot about dinner! lol
    21 quarts of green beans were added to the pantry though
    (i snapped beans in my sleep last night)

    Reply
  5. Barbara, they are good. I have a neighbor who has a HUGE indoor Rosemary, and he is very generous.

    jayedee, that makes me feel infinitely better. I kind of like snapping beans, although I’ve never done 21 quarts worth. Will you tell me how to do it? (Can beans?)

    Reply
  6. Oh, I agree with Jayedee — no judgment here! I fixed a one dish shepherd’s pie last night (which we ate right out of the pan — standing up in the kitchen armed with forks and grins) and fixed hot chocolate from a Land-o-lakes package because I didn’t feel like doing anymore dishes!!!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

    Reply
  7. Yum! I was busy with my life and didn’t miss the menus but seeing the menu is helpful to me and I’m sure to others as well. Thanks!

    Reply
  8. Yum! I was busy with my life and didn’t miss the menus but seeing the menu is helpful to me and I’m sure to others as well. Thanks!

    We had your macaroni and cheese for dinner tonight, just fyi…

    Reply
  9. imagineannie

    Lacy, we LOVE Shepard’s Pie, and if we had that and hot chocolate, my son would go into orbit. The only thing that could make it better would be if we had gum for dessert.

    Kathy, there will be more. Maybe not an every week thing, but an “often” thing. I do the planning every week; I might as well exploit it by making it appear glamorous as opposed to purely pragmatic.

    Reply
  10. Kristin Bellar

    Yes! Love to see the menus back!

    We saw your son in a hot convertible this weekend cruising around the neighborhood. He was not driving, in case you were wondering. Looking forward to seeing the whole family soon.

    Reply
  11. Kristin, its all for you…:) I hope I’ll be able to post another one tomorrow, as well. As for my son, that was the Mayor driving him around. Once you win a Crystal Award, these things happen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

