RSS Feed

What’s For Dinner

Posted on

I have escaped from the clutches of local politics long enough to think of what I am going to feed my family this week. Given the fact that I am, by nature, more domestic peace-loving softy than aggressive strategist, I can hardly find words to express my pleasure and relief at taking an hour to spread out my “tools of the trade” (this grocery’s weekly circular, the calendar and whatever recipes are currently tugging at my soul) and plan a week of menus. Its another week of insanity; two baseball practices at dinner time, one retirement party at dinner time, and yet another endless City Council meeting, but i will not be beaten. We’re eating well, or I’ll die trying. (Note: this is actually a distinct possibility, in which case you will be notified by Mr. Annie, and may commence an appropriately lengthy and vocal period of mourning).

Here’s what we’re eating this week:

Saturday

Topopo Salad

This is one of my personal favorites, and if I poach and shred the chicken and do the other prep work ahead of time; its very easy to put together right before dinner. If you haven’t tried this yet, I urge and exhort you to give it a shot. It has, oddly enough, become “soul food” for this Catholic/Jewish/Protestant white girl from the Midwest. Go figure.

Sunday

Fish Tacos; Fruit Salad

Not healthy. Probably not even vaguely authentic. Grease splatters in the kitchen, and that lingering smell of fish. Call me crazy.

Monday

Memorial Day at Mom & Dad’s – Baked Beans and Icebox Cake

The baked beans are from Elise at “Simply Recipes,” one of the most eminently trustworthy (and exhaustive) sources of recipes outside of Mark Bittman. I have never made them before, but the recipe is close to others I have liked, and i haven’t a doubt in my mind. As for the icebox cake, it is my standard, heirloom spring/summer dessert. People who don’t like it are few and far between, and probably not necessary to my immediate well-being.

Tuesday

Macaroni & Cheese; Steamed Broccoli

A busy night meal; vegetarian, make-ahead and comforting.

Wednesday

Baked Potato Soup and Bread

Its still pretty chilly here, and I’m figuring I can get away with this soup as a hot meal one more time before it makes the transition to vichyssoise for the summer. As for the bread, it is my devout wish that it will be made by my own hands; we’ll see how it goes.

Thursday

Quick Chicken Korma, Basmati Rice and Pineapple

This meal was supposed to have happened this week, but for a variety of reasons, did not. I want it, and I’m going to have it. Nuff said.

Friday

Barbecued Ribs, Pan-Fried Potatoes and Salad

We did actually have these this week, but ribs are on sale again, we loved them, and I do not anticipate any complaints. Should there be any resistance on the part of my audience, I will eat them all myself and stagger around the neighborhood, sauce dripping from my lips, begging for some bicarb and a wet wipe.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

7 responses »

  1. Eric Williams

    “I will eat them all myself and stagger around the neighborhood, sauce dripping from my lips, begging for some bicarb and a wet wipe”

    This is hilarious. You always make me laugh. Gawd I love ribs, too. Thanks for the menus…I just might try that Topopo salad and drift into reverie of my nights at El Azteco…..great times…

    Reply
  2. you do it all, annie…
    you do it all
    you amazing woman you

    sign me up for taco night

    ps. day 3 of mostly raw fruits and vegetables and all vegan. i am paying for recent past sins in anticipation of a huge food month in july… no fun. but i might feel/look human again in a few more days if i’m lucky.

    Reply
  3. Ann,

    Tuesday. Im in total agreement about the Jewlery thing, OK.

    Glitter, well it aint made it to this neck of the woods. Yet. (even at night).

    I really do owe it to you to make some Mac&Cheese for you.
    I’d die happy with my last rights made by your recipe. But………

    My momma, my grandma, and your momma aside, its not personal you know. Think Oysters, maybe smoked fish roe baked into all that cheesy whitesauce.

    On the ‘to do’ list. And no shoes, so I can watch your feet.

    Reply
  4. imagineannie

    eric, we had the Topopo tonight, and I have to say (all modesty aside) that it was fabulous. i have really come to prefer my own version, what with the fully identifiable ingredients, and all.

    claudia, that doesn’t sound so bad, short-term, as long as you have good quality stuff. What’s happening in July?

    Robert, all I can do is squeal “oooooooh” while starting the preliminary, anticipatory toe curling…if only I can find some oysters…..

    Reply
  5. Ann,

    Can you post your recipe for fish tacos? I never know what kind of fish to use and how to cook it, and it ends up usually being a mushy tasteless mess which is overpowered by my homeade salsa or pico de gallo.

    Thanks!

    Reply
  6. Also, re Topoppo: how do you spread the beans on the chips without messing up the layer of chips? In the past, I’ve used a hastily fashioned “pastry bag” of a ziploc with a corner cut off. I need to just buy a pastry bag… unless you have a brilliant idea. When I spoon it on or try to spread with a spatula, my chips get all messed up.

    Reply
  7. Kristin, I’ll give you two choice on the tacos. My recipe is on the blog: https://imagineannie.wordpress.com/2007/08/21/fish-tacos-and-no-fish-quesadillas/

    And if you prefer them not fried, you can try my friend Claudia’s: http://www.cookeatfret.com/fish/2007/12/16/gringa-fish-tacos-with-a-mango-salad/

    As for the refried beans, I always heat them first, then they are smooth and easy to spread. I use the offset spatula i use to put icing on cake, and it works quite well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

