RSS Feed

What’s For Dinner?

Although it is summer, and I am supposed to be lying around reading novels and watching kids splash in the pool, I am actually experiencing full-bore busy-ness with only occasional moments to drink beer on the porch or pretend to garden. (I guess that’s kind of a giveaway about my gardening prowess – I’m thinking that people who actually grow stuff did a lot of work in the spring and are now doing things like mulching and weeding. Or whatever it is that they do).

People around here still need to eat, though, and its starting to be possible to use fresh, perfect things from the farmer’s market. No tomatoes yet, or eggplant, or melons, but there are onions and potatoes and herbs, and the start of zucchini and broccoli. I have decided on a week of dinners that alternates between labor-intensive and ridiculously easy, on the chance that on an “easy” night I will find myself with time to sit on the porch, feet up on the railing, drinking iced tea (or Red Stripe) and finishing the mystery that has been sitting by the side of my bed since Hannibal crossed the Alps. Here’s what’s cooking on Forest Street this week:

Saturday

Burgers with Cheese, Red Onions and Avocado; Potato Chips; Strawberries

Definitely pushing the “easy” button here. Just try to make me feel guilty.

Sunday

Asian Marinated Grilled Chicken Thighs; Thai Noodles with Peanut Sauce; Melon

Depending on my level of inspiration I will either make or buy the marinade for the chicken thighs; the noodles are delicious and fairly healthy, and I like them cold just as well as hot.

Monday

Breakfast Burritos; Fresh Pineapple

Chorizo, scrambled eggs, onions and jalapenos cooked together and rolled in a flour tortilla with hot sauce and cool pineapple on the side.

Tuesday

Chicharrones de Pollo; Rice; Zucchini

Time-consuming. Unhealthy. Fabulous.

Wednesday

Grilled Italian Sausage Sandwiches; Potato Chips; Fresh Fruit

These will be the standard grilled Italian sausages in a roll with some melted provolone and a healthy dollop of sauteed onions and peppers. We will have eaten all of the fruit by Wednesday, so I’ll go look for something that looks good – maybe peaches or plums.

Thursday

Topopo Salad

Again, labor-intensive, but worth it. A perfect summer dinner with a bottle of Corona and a walk to Tastee Twist for ice cream later in the evening. (Fireflies mandatory).

Friday

Ribs; Fried Potatoes, and Coleslaw

I will use my “lazy” slowcooker-to-grill method for the ribs. I have been loving very young, un-peeled red potatoes or fingerlings sliced very thin and fried in a pan with olive oil and onions and topped with a little Fleur de Sel (and possibly white truffle oil), and I never made cole slaw this week, as I was supposed to, so I still owe everybody some cabbage.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

4 responses »

  1. Fresh stuff directly from the farmers are the best. The difference in taste in price is so big, it´s amazing. Enjoy your summer!

    Reply
  2. Ann,

    I take it the van will be ready for pickup Saturday. So, how many slabs does a Tranny R+R go for these days?

    Reply
  3. Billigfluge, you are absolutely right. I would rather pick out fresh produce at the market than buy shoes. That’s saying a lot.

    Robert, they found no leak, but its still leaking. Also an electrical problem that causes a fuse to blow repeatedly. I will offer them a dozen slabs of babybacks to start negotiations. I might even throw in some slaw…..

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Bookmarks about Pineapple

Leave a Reply

