RSS Feed

Lemon Linguine

Susan Branch’s The Summer Book is one of the great pleasures of the season for me. It is about gardening, days at the beach, cooking, herbs, picnics…everything that is summer, complete with perfect quotes, delicious pictures drawn by Ms. Branch, and even a recipe for “Bologna Sandwiches & Potato Chips.” Every year I put it away until June, and then take it out to savor for the season.

One of my favorite recipes in the book is for a very light, versatile pasta dish that makes a great light, vegetarian dinner on its own, or serves as a fresh and pretty side dish for grilled meat or fish.

Lemon Linguine

(adapted from The Summer Book by Susan Branch)

  1. 1 lb. linguine
  2. 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  3. Zest of 1 lemon
  4. Juice from 2 lemons
  5. 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  6. 1/4 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley
  7. Salt & freshly ground pepper
  8. Lots of fresh Parmesan cheese
  9. Optional ingredients: steamed or grilled shrimp, leftover chicken, roasted vegetables, chopped tomatoes, slivered almonds, toasted pecans, toasted pine nuts, fresh basil…use your imagination and your refrigerator.

Cook linguine in boiling, salted water until done (about 10 minutes).

Combine next five ingredients in a large serving bowl. Add pasta & toss well. Sprinkle with salt & pepper and Parmesan to taste. Serve, or toss in additional ingredients of your choice.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

11 responses »

  1. OMG Annie! this has my mouth watering! I LOVE lemons and have a particular fondness for pasta. I will definitely try this recipe! junemoon

    Reply
  2. junemoon, its pretty great stuff. I can think of about a million different ways to do it…enjoy!

    Reply
  3. ok, this is fabulous. Made it last night. picked two lemons off our tree and used some baby basil growing in a pot on our deck in place of parsley. so simple and really, just an unbeatable recipe. thanks, Ann

    Reply
  4. Eric, I’m so glad you guys liked it! I did make it using the papardelle you sent (and the lemons, of course) and it was even better – there’s a sort of richness to those noodles that makes the whole thing better. I am going to blog about your gift if I ever come up for air from my new and life-consuming job…..

    Reply
  5. Great, that was my take, too-I don’t know why that kind of noodle was so good–Dale forbids me to make it any other way now-the lemon with pasta is my new favorite veggie main or side dish. I was going to saute some cherry tomatoes in oil and garlic and add them to the Lemon Papardelle, but Dale said “oh no you don’t-I liked it the way you made it the first time”. Guess you know now who’s the boss around here. Great stuff.

    Reply
  6. Eric, I think it might actually be very good with the cherry tomatoes – maybe if you make it often enough the “regular” way, Dale will let you try a variation every now and then. Its good to boss. I enjoy it. 🙂

    Reply
  7. I have a feeling you and Dale would get along famously. (I have a very wry smile on my face as I type this)

    Reply
  8. eric, is that because we are both Alpha Persons?

    Reply
  9. Hello! How could I pass by and not say HELLO! You have such good taste, you and Eric, June Moon and Dale too, and Lemon Linguini is my favorite too. Thank you for liking it and my Summer Book! Your Blog is wonderful and you are too nice! Definitely. xxoo Susan

    Reply
    • Well thanks, Susan! I love your drawings, and have most of your books – I would own them just for the pictures, so the recipes are like a bonus. Thanks so much for visiting, and for the kind words; I’m honored.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

