RSS Feed

Chorizo & Veggie Sautee a l’Alice

Chorizo is one of those things that I kept reading about and coveting, like truffles, harissa, mangosteens and pink Hawaiian rock salt. There wasn’t any here, or if there was, I didn’t know where to find it. There were recipes I couldn’t make without substituting something ridiculous like spicy Italian sausage, and my chorizo-lessness compounded my sense of having my culinary imagination limited in some pedestrian, Midwestern way. With no chorizo (truffles, harissa, mangosteens or pink Hawaiian rock salt) I was just a “flyover” cook.

One day, I found chorizo among the sausages at the grocery store. We tried it, we kind of liked it, but it was very mushy and greasy, and not as complex as I had expected. I bought it and used it in the odd chorizo and egg burrito, but mostly (unlike harissa, which I got for Christmas and adored) it was kind of a disappointment.

So yesterday my friend Alice was talking about this fabulous chorizo produced at a local grocery store (Goodrich’s, in case you’re local) by a real, live butcher who goes by “Dr. Beef” (about which, no comment). She said that she had just invented a great dish using Dr. Beef’s chorizo, and that I had to try it. Today, around lunch time, she showed up with a bowl of the stuff with a beautiful piece of bread tucked in to soak up the sauce. It was magnificent; Alice and Dr. Beef (which would, in my opinion, be a great name for a band) both acquitted themselves fabulously well. The chorizo was spicy and complex, the green beans were crisp, the onions were caramelized to sweetness, and the oil/sauce in the bottom of the bowl was to die for. There is no picture because Mr. Annie and I shared the bowl full and fought over the last piece of bread to sop up the stuff in the bottom.

This is, besides being delicious, a great way to use what is fresh and best from the Farmer’s Market, although according to Alice the tomato she used was nothing to write home about (they aren’t really ready yet, around here) and it still turned out well.

Chorizo & Veggie Sautee a l’Alice

  1. 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil (not Extra Virgin)
  2. 1-2 Tablespoons Extra Virgin olive oil
  3. 1 chorizo sausage
  4. 1/2 onion, thinly sliced
  5. 1 tomato cut into chunks about 1/2 inch square
  6. 1 large handful fresh green beans trimmed and cut into 1 inch pieces
  7. 1 large handful fresh basil leaves

Heat olive oil in large skillet or sautee pan over medium heat.  Remove sausage from casing and add to oil in pan along with the onion, breaking up chrizo with a spoon as it browns.

When the onions are carmelized and the sausage is browned, turn the heat to medium-high and add the tomato, green beans and Extra Virgin olive oil. Cook about 3 more minutes, until the tomatoes look a little browned, but not so long that the beans lose their crunch.

Turn off heat and stir in a large handful of fresh basil leaves.

Writes Alice: “Make sure you have bread to sop up the red oil….ogogogogogo
And eat it with fresh fruit! I’m having it with fresh black
raspberries and peaches. It cools off your mouth and balances the
spice so beautifully. (I think there’s cloves in them thar chorizo.)”

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

8 responses »

  1. Ann,

    You know, I believe sausages are one of those ” I like what I like ‘ kinda things. You obviously like Mr Beefs Chorizo. Ill bet you would like any of his work. Authentic is not the real issue here.

    Thars a bunch of differant store bought Chorizos out there, and a million homemade versions in addition. They do kinda share a theme in common, and all really like to be cooked. Thats where your first experiance might have gone wrong. You gotta let it really get done. Nothing worse than a half done Chorizo.

    Do like I say. Go get a pound of Mr Beefs best. Chop it up into 1/2 inch dice (partially frozen helps here). Soak a package of dry garbonzo beans. Put it all in the crock pot and add a chopped onion. Forget about it.

    I promise you will not be able to let this overcook (unlike the chicken). It will be gone before it even gets close. I’ll wager the boy says “aw, come on mom, I like my beans crunchy, lets eat”. The smell will most certainly bring Alice over.

    You will have now moved to the next plane of existance………

    Reply
  2. I still don’t know why I can’t be Dr. Beef.

    Reply
  3. I do love chorizo. This sounds wonderful!

    Reply
  4. Mr. Annie–I think there can only be one Dr. Beef per household and you’re it. I just think you shouldn’t hang out a shingle with that moniker unless you’re ready to deal with the, um, consequences……

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Chorizo and Kale « Forest Street Kitchen

  6. Eric-When you have the opportunity to visit Forest Street, you will see that any consequences associated with that shingle would be rather welcome. Mrs. Annie will be happy to explain……or not. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Robert, we are going to try your suggestion for Friday night’s dinner. I’m TRUSTING you, here….

    Mr. Annie, (sigh), I will call you Dr. Beef if it makes you happy. You do know you aren’t a doctor, though, right? Maybe you could be “Mr. Beef?”

    Mary, it is. It really, really is. Check it out and let me know what you think?

    Eric, in our neighborhood (populated largely by stunningly beautiful undergraduate girls who appear to have very limited funds available for clothes large enough to cover themselves. The consequences of identifying Mr. Annie as Dr. Beef (isn’t that the title of a book by Robert Louis Stevenson?) might be satisfying for him, but quite disturbing to me…..

    Reply
  8. We would like to feature this recipe on our blog. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if interested. Thanks 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

