RSS Feed

Chorizo and Kale

In that classic made-for-television movie “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer,” Sam the Snowman (voiced by Burl Ives) sings a song called “Silver and Gold.” I have been writing recently about both chorizo and kale, and found myself, earlier today, singing “ch’rizo and kale, ch’rizo and kale….” (You really have to take out a syllable somewhere, you know). My point, and there really is one, is that with a little help from my friends I have managed to combine these two foods into something pretty respectable. I am going to use a lot of the kale tonight to make a frittata suggested by Claudia, but there is really quite a lot of it to be used up. Robert,  a Frequent Forest Street visitor, made a comment suggesting that maybe I had not enjoyed the chorizo I usually used because I hadn’t cooked it long enough, and Barbara offered a recipe a soup that included kale and prosciutto, which made me think I remembered recipes with kale and sausage which made me think of combining the unloved piece of chorizo in my refrigerator with some of the kale sitting on my counter.

It really was no miracle, what happened was just this:  I heated a frying pan to medium high heat, squeezed the chorizo in, and broke it up with a wooden spoon while I cooked it until it formed small, dark brown crumbles in a sea of orange oil. I then took three stems of kale, de-stemmed them, tore them into large-ish pieces and threw them in the pan to wilt and sop up some of the oil. I then reduced the heat to medium, scrambled two eggs in a glass, added them to the pan, and stirred until the eggs were cooked. I had mine “straight up;” the pictured version is Mr. Annie’s take, which involved eating the mixture in a flour tortilla with cheese and hot sauce.

There’s something quite perfect about the marriage of chorizo and kale (aside from the fact that its a union of opposites, since chorizo is incredibly bad for you and kale is the poster child of healthy foods). The kale loses its bitterness, the chorizo provides all the fat and seasoning necessary, and I think the egg could easily be replaced by rice (fresh or left over) or polenta, thinly sliced potato, or maybe even noodles of some sort. I think this could be good with at least twice as much kale, and possible an additional green vegetable like zucchini or green beans.

Go forth, buy chorizo and kale (if you are not lucky enough to have a neighbor who grows enough kale to feed thousands) and experiment. You may just find yourself singing…..

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

10 responses »

  1. “It really was no miracle what happened was just this” oh my gawd, straight from the Wizard of Oz, my all-time favorite movie. Boy, you’re really making up for lost time, all these new posts in record time. Love it. I love kale and other greens (Dale’s from the South so it was standard fare in his upbringing) and I wouldn’t have thought of it, but kale and Chorizo together makes perfect sense. Yum.

    Reply
  2. “chorizo is incredibly bad for you”

    Ann,

    Sheesh!

    Mr Beef is listening……

    Reply
  3. “Good with twice as much kale”!!! Please, come take it!! (Brilliant idea, by the way. I would follow if I weren’t absolutely sick of kale.)

    Reply
  4. Ann,

    OK True confessions:

    Johnsonville’s ‘Grillin Chorizo’ does suck

    Reply
  5. Eric, its in my top 5 movies. Also, I had just watched it, so it was on my mind – get Dale to give me a good recipe for collards, will you?

    Alice, I’m on it. I see it as my reward for getting to pick herbs.

    Claudia, thanks. You know your vote always counts double.

    Robert, that’s “Dr. Beef” to you, and I was unaware of the existence of Johnsonville ‘Grillin Chorizo.’ Are you messing with me?

    Reply
  6. Ann,

    Think about it for a sec, obviously Johnsonville didnt. A chorizo you just pick up off the grill and bite a hunk of. It has about half a load of everything that seperates hardcore season meats from the adverage wiener.

    On that note, dont worry so about Mr Annie ( AKA “drbeef” wink-wink). Tire biters stop abruptly after the first ‘catch’, one way or the other. What doesnt kill him will teach humility.

    Reply
  7. Ann,
    Do you have a Trader Joe’s in Lansing/E.Lansing? I haven’t been back in so long I can’t remember if there is one in your area. Let me know.

    Eric

    Reply
  8. Robert, he mostly just looks, and I have to say that if I were a guy living here, I’d look too. As for the Johnsonville chorizo; its dirty pool to trick me when I’m trying to juggle foodie life, family life, and political life and…not sleeping enough.

    Eric, alas we do not. Are you going to send one to us? 🙂

    Reply
  9. Let us know when you get it. I hope you like it.
    eric

    Reply

Leave a Reply

