RSS Feed

This One Goes Out to the One I Love…

I love all of my regular readers. They are patient, they come back to me after I treat them carelessly, and they make me feel like anything I do is really just fine. In a hard, cold world, it is a beautiful thing to find a community of people all over the country who can pop into my “comment” area and fill my heart with warmth previously derived only from puppies, babies and pancakes with real butter and Grade B maple syrup.

I do not play favorites, my mother taught me long ago that “comparisons are odious.” I do, however, have to say that my heart skips a beat when I get a comment from Robert. He came to me last spring with a silver-tongued (keyed?) suggestion about what I should do with a crystal bowl I had received as an award. He won the contest I was running, and stuck around to make pithy remarks, guide me in the paths of righteousness as I became a community activist, and send me the perfect pictures to accompany some of my posts. Alas, he and I are both happily married to other people (who we have actually met) but he is the perfect cyber admirer, and I thank my lucky stars that he found my blog.

Recently, I posted about the fact that my life had changed in ways that made it difficult for me to plan and prepare the kind of high-toned meals that once characterized my kitchen and this blog. I referred to the fact that I had made pork chops in the crock pot, and Robert asked for the recipe. It is not a fancy recipe, but it is reliable and good. Kind of like Robert. Here it is:

Chicken Fried Chops

(from allrecipes.com)

INGREDIENTS:
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons salt
1 1/2 teaspoons ground
mustard
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
6 pork loin chops (3/4 inch thick), trimmed
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 (10.75 ounce) can
condensed cream of chicken
soup, undiluted
1/3 cup water

DIRECTIONS:
1. In a shallow bowl, combine flour, salt, mustard and garlic powder; dredge pork chops.
2. In a skillet, brown chops on both sides in oil. Place in a slow cooker. Combine soup and water; pour over chops. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours or until meat is tender. If desired, thicken pan juices and serve with the chops.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

7 responses »

  1. Ann,

    SIlly girl. YOU lured me on with the line ‘I might be hideous and have a hump”. I’m supposed to somehow resist this? Anyway, blame Fret for the introduction.

    I dont care what anyone says, them porkchops sound mighty tasty, over homade smashed taters. With frozen peas. I think you have no idea, this is as good as it gets……….

    You make your people proud.

    Reply
  2. kumbaya my looooooord
    kumbayaaaaa…

    Reply
  3. gosh, could it possibly get any mushier around here? jeez

    Reply
  4. LMAO….. rolling on the floor too….

    Reply
  5. Robert, thanks. Let me know if you still love me after you try the pork chops.

    Claudia and Eric, you are smart asses, and you do not understand a real relationship.

    Christina, well, i guess that’s an appropriate response…..

    Reply
  6. Annie, I almost gave up on you. Glad to see you’re back, and secretly I am glad to see that you have stooped to using a can of cream of something in a recipe.

    Reply
  7. Barbara, there were many, many cans of cream soup. I’m glad you didn’t give up on me – I think you may find me a bit less arch and snooty after my humbling experience as a working mother….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

