RSS Feed

Fictional Fried Chicken

As a child, I was “good” to the point of pathology, except for my reading habit. I had to be called multiple times to set the table, come to dinner, empty the dishwasher…you get the picture. I also tried, unsuccessfully, to develop a method of reading a book while eating dinner with the family. I got caught every time, and reminded fairly sharply that I was being incredibly rude. (It is a great pleasure of my adult life that, when I eat alone, I can read unrepentantly as I graze).

Of great interest to me in much of what I read was the food the characters ate. I didn’t really want the odd bits of the pig that the Ingalls girls ate in the “Little House” books, and “porridge” (I read a lot of books about orphaned English children) sounded unpromising.  On the other hand, there were plum puddings, apple dumplings, tea sandwiches, and various Japanese and Indian foods courtesy of Rumer Godden. I can still become fixated on things consumed by fictional characters, and this week I’ve been reading a novel in which  a man returns to his “homeplace” in the Deep South. Fried Chicken is mentioned, and when Sam said he would like fried chicken for his birthday dinner (this is the standard order of the past 6 years) I decided that rather than going the tedious recipe-reading route, I’d see if I could reconstruct the fried chicken described in the book.

fried-chicken

Here’s what I “knew:”

  1. The chicken was deep fried in some type of fat
  2. The chicken was soaked in buttermilk
  3. The chicken was not battered, but coated with flour with unidentified spices

I also really knew that, despite the Crisco ads of my youth (remember Florence Henderson?) I would be frying in Canola oil instead of shortening, and that it would take about 25-30 minutes for the thickest breasts to cook through on high heat. Below is my “adapted from fiction”fried chicken, and may I say that it was AMAZING. Tender. Crisp, Flavorful. Addictive. Who knows what I could do if I hadn’t been cheated out of all the time I spent doing chores or being polite company instead of reading?

Fictional Fried Chicken

  1. The bone-in, skin-on chicken pieces of your choosing, allowing at least two pieces per person – I bought mixed fryer parts and an extra package of drumsticks because that’s what Sam likes best.
  2. 1 pint buttermilk
  3. 2 cups all-purpose flour
  4. About 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  5. About 1 Tablespoon Sweet or Hot Paprika, depending on whether you want a kick
  6. Enough oil to come about halfway up the frying pan(s) you’ll be using.  (Note: you may need to fry two pans of chicken at the same time if you are feeding a crowd and want it served hot; in the alternative, you may set your oven to 250 or so and fry a batch and keep it warm while you cook the second batch).

At least 8 hours before you want to eat (overnight is even better) wash chicken and place in a large, zipper-type plastic bag with the buttermilk. Turn it over whenever you think about it, so that all the chicken is well-buttermilked.

When you’re ready to cook, put the chicken in a strainer in the sink and drain off excess buttermilk. (Chicken will still be wet).

Pour oil into frying Pan(s) over high heat.

While oil heats, place flour, salt, pepper and spices in a second plastic bag, add chicken and shake to coat VERY thoroughly. If you have more than 5 pieces of chicken, flour it in separate batches.

Oil is ready when a bread crumb dropped in sizzles and quickly browns. If the bread burns quickly, turn your heat down a notch and try again until you get browining, not burning.

Add the chicken to the pan (be careful!) and cook 15 minutes on one side. Turn and cook about 10 minutes on the second side. Thick breasts may take a little longer; I started the breasts five minutes ahead of the wings, drumsticks and thighs so that they cooked for a total of 30 minutes.

When chicken is mahogany colored and has a fairly resilient crust, remove from oil, place briefly on paper towels, and serve. (As of today, I know that this is also really good cold).

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

8 responses »

  1. Ann,

    He is a lucky boy. WIll apprieciate the south in years to come. And you did not make him fetch and snatch the bird either…

    Lucky boy

    Reply
  2. Thank you Thank you Thank you. Dale, being from Louisville (technically the South, such that he calls me a Yankee) is usually in charge of “Fried Chicken”. We recently inherited a well and lovingly used cast iron deep frying pan (seasoned from years and years of fried chicken of Dale’s youth), but he never is satisfied with the final result–“good, but not the same as Mom-Peg’s” is the usual refrain. So, we’re going to try this recipe–excited by the buttermilk marinade am I–and see if it passes muster. By the way, I LOVED the poor porridge eating English orphan reference. Poor English children.

    Reply
  3. well, i suppose fried chicken will be on my menu next week too!
    but, as you are already breaking the rules with crisco instead of canola…..why don’t you go for broke and fry that birdie in lard.
    you will feel your arteries clogging, but your tastebuds will feel like they’ve died and gone to heaven! trust me…….this little cracker girl knows lard! lol

    (no comments about my lard butt either, please)

    Reply
  4. Can you still get lard? I’ve never seen it, of course, I haven’t really been looking. Everything in moderation, lard butt notwithstanding. (sorry Jayedee, I couldn’t resist)

    Reply
  5. Robert, we are civilized urban-dwelling folks and our chickens come from Tyson, dead, plucked, dismembered and wrapped in plastic and styrofoam. I am not sure what Sam would do, confronted with an actual, living chicken. Although we are not authentic chicken-fetchers, he DOES love the South, at least the Panhandle, Georgia, Alabama, Kentucky part we see annually.

    Eric, I hope it passes Dale-muster! It is probably somewhat authentic; either Robert or jayedee is a much better authority than I on the subject of authentic Southern fried chicken. (I am a more reliable authority on children’s literature focusing on porridge-eating orphans). That being said, it was sooooo good – will you let me know if Dale says it’s okay?

    jayedee, I would be shocked to learn that you had a lard butt, as you look quite trim in your pictures. I don;t think I’ve ever cooked with lard, although I’ve cooked with suet – can I get lard in a can, like Crisco, or do I have to get it from a butcher? Eric and I NEED to know.

    Reply
  6. Great Michigan based food blog! Check out mine…

    motherskitchen.blogspot.com

    Reply
  7. i find my lard (not the lard on my butt-i always know where THAT is) in the same aisle as shortening. it comes in a 1 gallon plastic bucket. you won’t be sorry! try it in your biscuits too! *swoons*

    Reply
  8. jayedee, I don’t know that I’ve ever seen buckets of lard, but i haven’t been looking. I’ll look on Saturday when I’m grocery shopping.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

