RSS Feed

If it ever crosses your mind to take a Pyrex dish out of the oven and heat it over a burner to reduce the liquid in your Scalloped Potatoes,

Don’t:

exploding-pyrex-1

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

9 responses »

  1. Thanks for this Public Service Announcement. It does come too late for me, though. I laid a hot pyrex dish in the sink a month ago. It’s gone now. The noise was horrific

    Reply
  2. It’s not too late for me. Thanks for the lesson! I vow to never do that, nor will I put a hot pyrex in the sink. Nice visual aid.

    Reply
  3. Eric, it was a lot of noise – plus I had to scramble to keep the dogs from eating the tasty glass shards.

    Michelle – it’s the new “stop, drop and roll.” For cooks.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Basic Bean Soup: Waste Not, Want Not « Forest Street Kitchen

  5. I just received a set of Pyrex dishes for Christmas and putting them on top of a stove burner to reduce the liquid is exactly what my partner would do if I actually let him into the kitchen when I’m cooking. My solution is simply to take a large soup spoon in hand and consume the cheesy broth until it’s reached an acceptable level for presentation at the table (and I’m invariably full before we actually sit down to eat). I’ve printed out the picture though and taped it to the smaller of the two just as a warning to be heeded.

    Reply
  6. William, that is quite a fabulous idea, and would help to preserve one’s Pyrex. I’m glad I have helped you and yours to avoid a similar fate. Perhaps you will come home some time and cook with me?

    Claudia, no s&*t. It will NOT happen again.

    Reply
  7. I am guessing you ordered out for pizza that night

    Reply
  8. Chinese. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

