RSS Feed

Jambalaya

gumbo

During the days leading up to Mardi Gras, my beloved Create Network ran hours and hours of New Orleans-related cooking shows. I watched John Besh go out on a shrimp boat with one of his sons and use the shrimp boumty in several dishes in one of his restaurant kitchens, I learned the difference between Cajun and Creole, and I saw several versions of gumbo, jambalaya and Bananas Foster. What stuck in my mind, for some unknown reason, was Chef Paul Prudhomme making a chicken and smoked sausage gumbo. He said that his methods were unorthodox (which, I’ll admit, always attracts me), he explained the significance of roux prepared to different degrees of darkness, and he just seemed sort of like the Charlton Heston/God of Gumbo sitting in a chair in his white clothes, talking as he cooked something he had made millions of times. I made a mental note to make that gumbo after I returned from my vacation, and tonight, I did.

The original recipe is here, but I tweaked it enough that I am going to tell you what I actually did, rather than what I was supposed to do. (See “unorthodox,” above).  I did not use bone-in, skin-on chicken pieces, which I believe would give the dish more flavor, only because I didn’t want to deal with the step that required pulling the chicken off the bone. I also doubled the smoked sausage, just because the boys like it a lot. The original recipe also calls for purchased Prudhomme spice mixtures, and I found the recipe for the mixture and made my own. It also calls for andouille sausage, which I can get only by making a huge effort, so I used regular smoked sausage. If you come over, I’ll buy the real stuff.

Chicken & Smoked Sausage Gumbo

Ingredients

  1. 3 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, each cut into 3-4 pieces
  2. 2 tablespoons, plus 2 teaspoons Chef Paul Prudhomme’s Poultry Magic. the recipe to make your own is here.
  3. 1 cup finely diced onions
  4. 1 cup finely diced green bell peppers
  5. 3/4 cup finely diced celery
  6. 1  cup all-purpose flour
  7. Vegetable oil for frying
  8. 7 cups chicken stock
  9. 1 pound smoked sausage, Andouille if you can get it, diced into ¼-inch cubes
  10. 1 teaspoon minced fresh garlic
  11. 2 cups hot cooked white rice

How to Prepare:

Sprinkle the chicken evenly with 2 tablespoons of the spice mix and rub it in well. Let stand at room temperature while you dice the vegetables.

Combine the onions, bell peppers and celery in a bowl and set aside.

Combine the remaining spice mix with the flour in a paper or plastic bag. Add the seasoned chicken pieces and shake until the chicken is well coated. Reserve ½ cup of the seasoned flour. Heat about 1 inch of oil in a large, heavy skillet over high heat until very hot (375°F to 400°F), about 6 to 7 minutes. Fry the chicken until the until brown on both sides and the meat is cooked, about 5 to 8 minutes per side. Drain on paper towels. Carefully pour the hot oil into a heatproof glass measuring cup, leaving some of the brown bits in the pan, then return ½ cup of the hot oil to the pan.

Return the pan to high heat and gradually whisk in the reserved ½ cup seasoned flour. Cook, whisking constantly, until the roux is dark red-brown, about 3½ to 4 minutes, being careful not to let it scorch or splash on your skin. Remove the pan from the heat and immediately add the vegetables, stirring constantly until the roux stops getting darker. Place the pan over low heat and cook, stirring constantly and scraping the pan bottom well, until the vegetables are soft, about 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, bring the stock to a boil in large saucepan or Dutch oven. Add the vegetable mixture by spoonfuls to the boiling stock, stirring between each addition until the roux is dissolved. Return to a boil, stirring and scraping the pan bottom often. Reduce the heat to low, stir in the sausage and garlic, and simmer uncovered for 45 minutes, stirring often toward the end of the cooking time.

When the gumbo has cooked for 45 minutes, stir in the chicken.

Serve immediately, over rice.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

7 responses »

  1. oh simplicity at its best! this will be made at the red brick ranchero this weekend!!!

    Reply
  2. Well welcome back. Your friends have been waiting. This sounds delicious!

    Reply
  3. Mary, you know you were the person who confirmed that this was the recipe I wanted – i REALLY like it with pieces of boneless, skinless breast. If you use whole, skin-on pieces I know you get more flavor, but don’t you remove a lot of the flavor when you take the skin off before de-boning and adding the chicken back in?!

    Michelle, it was. I’m hoping I’m really “back.” Thanks!!

    Reply
  4. Ann,

    Very Nice. That is a very interesting recipe, Ill bet it was good. Youall know how to use the hot sauce at the table so them Creoles was proud I know.

    I was taught to add the liquid slowly to the rue and work through the lumps while it was stiff. But hey, if you pulled it off the other way, you go girl.

    One phone call to the real Dr.Beef and you got some hot Andouille, I ‘gar-ron-tee’.

    Reply
  5. You forgot to add the most important step: eat WAY too much. You can always dance it off at your next fais-do-do.

    We spent a year in Baton Rouge, and have great food memories; we literally were chased by the proprietor of one little place because we hadn’t had enough to eat yet! She just wanted to give us more!

    Reply
  6. LauraGrace, we did eat way too much. 🙂 My husband just got back from New Orleans, and it is on my “dream” list right now to go back with him, conference-free, and eat and drink and dance until we are in a Zen-like trance…..

    Reply
  7. I am so ready.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

