RSS Feed

A Carrot Souffle for Your Honey Bunnies

carrot-souffleA critical part of the Passover Seder involves reciting a litany of the good things God has done for the Jews, after each one of which the crowd says “Dayenu.” Dayenu means “it would have been enough for us,” and I should have payed more attention to Dayenu Theory as it made it’s annual trek through my consciousness.

As in: “If Ann had made us a really nice Seder,” “Dayenu.” Nothing additional about how nice it would be if she also whipped up a few things for Easter. There is nothing in the Seder readings that implies that, while it was really great that God freed the children of Israel from slavery under Pharaoh, He would have been a really stand-up deity if He had also given them time for their bread to rise, keys to a great condo in the desert, and some of that cool spray-on sunblock.

In my life, entirely due to my own actions, it is never really “enough.” Passover was great and all, and it was only a couple of days ago, but we really  can’t be huddled over a plastic container of store-bought potato salad and a canned ham after Easter services on Sunday. Not even Sandra Lee would serve that to her family on a holiday. (Unless she placed a highly decorative bowl of unhulled strawberries to the table, thus making the meal “30% fresh and natural.”But I digress).

So, I’m cooking a little, but in a semi-homemade sort of way. My parents are contributing a spiral-cut ham and a fancy dessert, and I am making cream biscuits, steamed asparagus with a little butter and lemon, sweet potatoes with an orange-brown sugar glaze, and cheese grits. I had fantasies of using a recipe for baked cheese grits that I found in my brand new favorite Southern cookbook, but I can’t give it the necessary hour to cook after we get out of church, or the natives may turn the corner from being merely “hungry” to being “apocalyptic.” It also turns out that here in the North, we can’t get “un-quick” grits in the grocery store. I will, instead, make a vat of Quick Grits and stir in some sharp cheddar at the end. Inauthentic perhaps, and more Ma Walton than Martha Stewart, but it’ll eat good.

delightfullysouthernrecipes3

Actually, if I’d had the luxury of that hour for something to cook, I would have made the carrot souffle from the same cookbook, which was just lovely in every possible way. It is simeltaneously light and rich, and I like the idea of a carrot-bunny tie in. If you have a gap in your Easter menu (or want to try this with any plain-ish meat and something fresh and green) I recommend this highly.

Carrot Souffle

(adapted from Delightfully Southern Recipes by Lucy M. Cook)

Ingredients

  1. 1 pound carrots, sliced
  2. Salt, to taste
  3. 1 stick room temperature butter
  4. 1/2 cup sugar
  5. 1 teaspoon baking powder
  6. 3 tablespoons flour
  7. 3 eggs
  8. 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a saucepan, cover carrots with water, add salt, and cook until tender; drain. Combine with butter in blender or food processor. Process until smooth.

In a separate bowl, combine sugar, baking powder, flour eggs and vanilla; mix. Add carrot mixture and mix again.

Spoon into greased baking dish and bake for 45-60 minutes, or until nicely browned.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

5 responses »

  1. Ann,

    So thats what a Souffle is. Looks like it would work equally well with pumpkin, sweet potatos, or bananas.

    You are cooking your grits in the microwave right? Grandma still twitches when I push start. Regardless, its almost 2010, we do need to be progressive.

    Reply
  2. “Not even Sandra Lee would serve that to her family on a holiday. (Unless she placed a highly decorative bowl of unhulled strawberries to the table…”

    (if there was enough booze, I think she’d toss a bag of chicken McNuggets on the table and call it good). Or, maybe that’s just me…I forget….

    Reply
  3. Robert, sweet potato souffle would be FABULOUS; this dish actually tastes like sweet potatoes, anyway. I hadn’t planned on microwaving the grits – it seems a little sacreligious to microwave the Easter grits….

    greentuna, you are so right. About Sandra Lee, I mean. 🙂

    Reply
  4. LOVE the Sandra Lee jabs by all. Fantastic. You just perked up my day.

    My mil is making a fabulous cheesy potato thing that takes an hour too. She cooked it mostly this morning then puts it in a very cool area and finishes it later to make it hot and bubbly etc. It seems to work. . .

    I MIGHT take a Sandra Lee cocktail about now. . .

    Reply
  5. Michelle, she’s an easy target. I just had a little run of watching her after not seeing her show for ages, and it’s as bad as I remembered. 🙂 Cheesy potatoes are made for all big family occasions by Rob’s sister, and I love them. I hope your Easter was wonderful. As for the cocktail…have a real one. Nothing opaque or pastel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

