RSS Feed

Life Fail?

chocolate-puddingThe plan for today: work in the morning, take Mr. Annie to a (long) medical appointment, come home and reward him by making delicious fish tacos. I had wild-caught cod, tortillas, lettuce, Chihuahua cheese…the whole shebang.

What happened? I took Mr. Annie to the doctor, and during the appointment I developed a mammoth, astonishingly painful, death-dealing headache. After we came home, Mr. Annie took a well-deserved nap and I took lots of drugs. While I was waiting to become totally obliterated because I have a stash of Vicodin for the aspirin to work, Sam appeared with a friend to rifle through the kitchen and see what was available for a snack. I suggested that we had jerky, sweet potato chips, yogurt, crackers and peanut butter. Sam’s friend opined that they “had good snacks at his house, like vanilla wafer cookies and chocolate pudding.” They decided to go to his house and have a snack. On the way out, the friend advised me (in the most helpful way possible) that his mom shopped every Saturday and got lots of good things for his snacks and lunches. Needless to say, I tucked the idea away as a “must try.”

Post humiliation-by-adolescent, I decided to start the tacos. I opened the meat drawer and smelled…fish. Good fish doesn’t smell like fish. Five days was too long (I really am filing that one away for the future). The fish went out to the trash can, and I ordered hot wings.(Which were delicious, but they forgot the Blue Cheese dip).

I have disappointed wholesome youth seeking delicious after school snacks, and failed to use fish in a timely manner to delight the palate of my ailing husband. (Also, there was the Vicodin).

Better luck next time.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

8 responses »

  1. Ann,

    As long as Rob’s sawbones didnt specificly call out carrot poisoning, today was still a good day.

    Oh, and the giving the boy away thing is slightly over-the-top. Just remember, you will need him during mowing season.

    Reply
    • imagineannie

      Not only was it not carrot poisoning, but it was eye trouble – I was RIGHT to try to get more carrots into him. As for the boy…I remain unconvinced.

      Reply
  2. how incredibly human of you…

    Reply
  3. Vicodin- good. Head pain- bad.
    One’s own children- good. Mouthy well-meaning friend of children-bad.
    Fish tacos- good. Rotting flesh- bad.
    Hot wings- good. Feeling bad about yourself as a wife/mother/woman- bad, very bad!

    It just sounds like you had a no-good, very bad, horrible day. I’m sorry. I hope today is far better for you.

    Reply
  4. Except for the headache, bad fish, and mouthy pre-teen son, I think AGN had a pretty successful day. The wings were pretty darn good too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

