RSS Feed

Blog Whore

blog-whore

I debated that title. I really did. I considered “Blog Lady of the Evening,” “Blog Prostitute” and “Blog Hooker,” none of which had the same…je ne sais quoi. Plus, I’m pretty sure I “made you look!” to use the standard excuse for other infantile show-offery.

We will return to our regularly scheduled programming tomorrow. For today, I wish to say a few things, and make a request.

I have blogged every day this month, with only a couple of “cheats” like posting lists or links to someone else’s display of food-related wit. I have blogged about things serious and ridiculous, successes and failures, and recipes good and bad. I love writing, I love cooking, and I would not call blogging “work,”

but

It does take time to write, to take or find pictures, to edit and upload pictures and to copy out recipes. It also takes time to answer comments, although it is time delightfully spent. Like all bloggers, I have fantasies of “going big,” of having my writing “discovered,” of the phone call that involves a book contract, a magazine column…something like that. I also enjoy the feeling of crisp bills between my fingers, and there are actually folks who make money from their food blogs. Some of them have posts that are so overwhelmed by pop-up thingies and blinking flashing promotions that it’s hard to concentrate on the real writing. I have chosen not to do that, because I don’t like the way it looks, and because I think that it interferes with the relationship I have with my readers. Still, I can’t deny that I am looking to promote the blog, to attract new readers, and to grow this thing and see how far I can go.

So

(This is the “whore” part) I will only ask you this once, but I have to ask. If you read this blog, and you like it, please consider doing at least one of the following things now and then:

  1. Click on the Foodbuzz ad located at the top right of my home page. (It’s the big, long column). When you click, I get cash. Foodbuzz also gives you opportunities to get special deals, to help charities, and to check out other blogs you might like; it’s a win-win.
  2. Click on the “stumble upon” button located under the “Subscribe in a reader” button beneath the Foodbuzz ad. (This is right near the booth in the back, in the corner, in the dark). Click it after you read a post you really like. “Stumble upon” makes that post available to hundreds of thousands of other readers who may never have seen Forest Street Kitchen.
  3. Share with your friends. A couple of you have already done this, either by clicking “share” on facebook to expose all of your “friends” to what I wrote, or by adding me to the blogroll on your own blogs. I really, really appreciate this. It would be ridiculous overkill to pimp all of my posts (just sticking to my theme, people) but if you really like a post because it makes you laugh, or because you try the recipe and you love it, then you can share with genuine enthusiasm and that’s as good as it gets.

That’s all. Just those three things, and just this one “ask.” It’s a labor of love for me, this little blog, and I’ll probably never be one of the heavy hitters, but life is short, and if you don’t ask…well, you know.

Thanks to all of you who read and comment often, your support mean more to me than you know.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

4 responses »

  1. Don’t ask for much, do you? Sheesh, I mean really, you want me to click on something–do you realize how much energy, physical and mental that requires. And here I thought FSK was my own little indulgence.

    OK, enough sarcasm–I should have been doing this all along, as I am in Sales and Marketing and have some inkling how websites make money. Thanks for the prompting–it’s a good thing you wrote this post and I hope you reap some rewards…now, I gotta go clicking around now… See ya later.

    Reply
  2. Eric Williams

    I clicked. A lot…multiple cli..cks

    Reply
  3. Eric Williams

    Really? Only two, both mine? Where are you BlogFriends?

    Reply
    • imagineannie

      Thanks so much for the clicks and the comment. I took a risk on this, and apparently I have made some people disappear, at least for a while. Not sure if it was the “whore” part, the bald request for help, or both. It’s funny that I apparently offended – I’m usually kind of “the ultimate lady” and a real goody two shoes, but I’m thinking I only live once….

      Thank you for being loyal.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

