RSS Feed

A Proud, Michigan Salad

Posted on

spring-salad-1For as long as I’ve been aware of the designated gardening “zones” across the country, I have envisioned colored bands representing spring that swept across the United States towards Michigan, sort of like the bands of increasingly intense colors that represent storms on The Weather Channel. The bands get smaller and darker (pinker, in my mind) as they get closer to us, heading over from the West and up from the South until we see the crocuses poking up through the last of the snow, and the tight buds forming on the lilac bushes. My friends to the South and West have already had their first asparagus; ours is (according to one of my favorite farmers) about 10 days out. In anticipation of becoming the Bulls-eye of Spring, I bought everything that was a) green and b) grown in Michigan from the Farmers Market yesterday, and today I had a beautiful bowl of it for lunch.

spring-salad-2The salad was composed of salad greens grown about five miles away, garlic scallions, sprouts, and tiny bits of Basil, Dill and Tarragon. I boiled and chopped two locally laid eggs, and made croutons from scraps of homemade bread. I dressed this concoction lightly with a couple of squeezes of lemon (alas, not from Michigan), a pinch of sea salt, and some olive oil from Lebanon.

spring-salad-3Do try this at home.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

8 responses »

  1. Looks awesome. I made a great salad with my local radishes last night…will be blogging on that momentarily. I got a new phone today…a blackberry and I am having way too much fun with my new toy!

    Reply
    • imagineannie

      Your salad looked lovely; I love radishes lots. As for the phone…I still play with mine and I’ve had it since last November. i hope you love yours as much as I love mine!

      Reply
  2. What an inspiration! I made the most delicious Seafood, Spinach & Tomato Curry last night. Alas, only the spinach, garlic scallions and fish were local… I promise to do better every week. 🙂

    Reply
    • imagineannie

      I would be TRULY astonished if you had found local tomatoes at this time of year. Your dish sounds great (I never met a curry I didn’t like) and I am thinking that every step we take in the localvore direction is good. We don’t have to be zealots, right?

      Reply
  3. It’s beautiful!!

    Reply
  4. I have to commend you–this salad looks absolutely delicious and I want one right now. Great photography and I think making your own croutons is genious–strangely, I never think to do it, but now I’m making my own croutons whenever I can…thanks for showing me the light!

    Reply
    • imagineannie

      Thanks! I’m guessing you can get all of these things (and probably more) in SF at this time of year. As for the croutons, I just always save the last nubbins of bread loaves in a bag in my freezer, and when I need croutons or fresh bread crumbs, it’s easy. I think they taste better, too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

