RSS Feed

One Potato, Two Potatoes, THAT’S ENOUGH POTATOES!!!!

Low Carb Potato Salad 2So I’ve got the hang of this carb-counting stuff; we don’t eat more than 30 grams of carbs at a meal, and often we eat less than that. The carbs we eat have to be (in my opinion as a poseur dietitian) “good” carbs, a category which includes whole grain bread, brown rice, qinoa, fruit, sweet potatoes etc.. We eschew white bread, white rice, pasta, and all cookie, chip-py, cake-y, kind of stuff. Oh, and fried things.

There is a problem with potatoes, though. I miss them terribly. I have had good results with making ersatz mashed potatoes from cauliflower, we can eat a very small baked potato, and french fries are just…gone from our consciousness, but potato salad is tough to foresake. I believe it to be an essential part of summer, along with fireflies, (sugar free) lemonade and days by the pool, but it is made out of, well, potatoes. They aren’t evil, mind you, just really high in carbohydrates.

When I found a diabetic-friendly recipe for potato salad, I was skeptical. Was it really made from potato-like chunks of extra-firm tofu, or cleverly disguised bits of Daikon radish, or was it some miserable slop involving two potatoes stretched to make twelve servings with a gallon of “lite” mayo and 6 diced red peppers? That’s the real question in considering any “dietetic ” recipe: is it just really good food that you’d eat anyway, or is it bizarre and punitive?

The answer, with this recipe anyway, is that it’s delicious. It is good enough that you could take it as a “dish to pass” at a picnic, have some yourself, and never have to say one tedious word about how low-carb it is. (No one ever suspects potatoes of fitting into that category). A half cup serving is 178 calories, with 17 grams of carbs and 3 grams of fiber for a total of 14 net carbs. That’s a tidy “one carb” serving that seems to make your plate glow with the approbation of the kitchen gods. It’s a great addition to a piece of lean, grilled meat and steamed or grilled vegetables. We have also discovered that this keeps really well in the refrigerator for a few days, so if 12 servings seems mind-boggling for your household, consider the fact that this could reappear a couple of days later with a different supporting cast.

What is summer like without potato salad? We will never need to know.

Creamy Potato Salad

(adapted from Diabetic Living’s “Best Diabetic Recipes”)

Makes 12 1/2 cup servings.

Ingredients

  1. 2 1/2 pounds red potatoes (leave the skins on; there’s fiber in there!)
  2. 1 cup low-fat mayonnaise
  3. 8 ounces light sour cream
  4. 2 tablespoons fat free milk
  5. 1 teaspoon seasoned pepper
  6. 3 hard-boiled eggs, peeled and chopped
  7. 3/4 cup sliced green onions
  8. 1/2 cup cubed, reduced-fat cheddar cheese
  9. 4 slices bacon or turkey bacon crisp-cooked and crumbled
  10. 1 medium avocado

1. Cut potatoes into bite sized pieces, cook in boiling water for 15-20 minutes or just until tender. Drain and cool. [Note: the original recipe has you boil them whole and then cut them up, but I find it quicker to cut them before cooking, and they cook faster that way].

2. In a very large bowl, stir together mayonnaise, sour cream, milk seasoned pepper and a pinch of salt. Gently stir in potatoes, eggs, green onions, and cheese. Cover and chill 2-24 hours. (If salad seems dry after chilling, add 1-2 tablespoons additional milk).

3. To serve, seed, peel and chop avocado, and stir into salad. Sprinkle crumbled bacon over the top.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

10 responses »

  1. Ann,

    Law is leaking into cooking. Punitive? Really.

    12 1/2 cup servings = 6 1cup 0r 3 2cup servings
    OK Ok I get it………

    Reply
    • You know as well as I do that there are “healthy” recipes that are just disgusting, and make you feel like you’d rather just do without X than eat healthi-fied X. A stunning example in my mind is the tofu “ice cream” that I had to throw out before anyone in the family even saw it.

      As for the serving size thing, it is useful (I hope) to know how much equals a carb serving if one is counting. I’m counting….

      Reply
  2. looks great. I’ll have to bring this “north” with me. We get sort of, overwhelmed with too much potato salad there and this looks, well, better… so glad you are back 🙂

    Reply
    • It is pretty great. I think I may actually prefer it to the ancestral recipe I have made for years. I’m glad to be back, and glad you stuck with me.

      Reply
  3. A new recipe, a new picture- all is well in the universe once again.

    Reply
  4. This looks really good, especially with the avocado! mmmmmm…I love avocado!

    Reply
    • It is really good, and I love avocado, too. How can you not love something that is a “healthy fat?”

      Reply
  5. Try subbing turnips for potatoes. I don’t know their carb-count, but they are delicious and substitute nicely. Turnips au gratin, anyone?

    Reply
    • Oooh, good call! Turnips are lower in carbs, and when I did a search to check that out, I found all kinds of “turnips in place of potatoes” recipes. Turnips are also great because they are available locally in the fall and winter when it’s slim pickings around here for local produce. Au gratin sounds pretty good, too….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

