RSS Feed

Lest You Should Imagine…

DSCF3050…that I am enjoying all of this healthy, low-carb eating we’ve been doing, I have to confess: sometimes I feel that I am powerless in the presence of a bagel. A number of kind, well-intentioned people have mentioned that they “could never give up rice and pasta,” or that they “tried a low carb diet but couldn’t stick to it.” The thing is, either we stick to our regimen of very low carb consumption and daily exercise, or we get accustomed to giving and receiving injections of insulin. We may have to embrace the needle when we are too decrepit to exercise and burn off sufficient glucose, but for now the diet and exercise method is vastly more appealing.

That being said, sometimes, it’s just a super-colossal drag. I made a beautiful risotto tonight for my parents – creamy rice, shrimp, freshly shelled peas – and I felt guilty about tasting a grain or two of the rice to make sure it was properly cooked. Rob came into the kitchen, looked at it, and said (pathetically) “that’s not for us, is it?”

There is s sameness to our meals; a lean protein, a half a plate of vegetable matter, and a hint of carbs in the form of a fruit or a whole grain. I can arrange these items as meat in a bun with veggies, a meat and vegetable kabob with some brown rice, or even a chicken salad with a piece of melon. Vast numbers of items from my repertoire are gone: casseroles, curries, lasagnas, macaroni and cheese, scalloped potatoes, home baked breads. I have been whining about this in posts for days now, and I’m sure you all wish I would move on, but

I’m

not

done.

I have no trouble with personal discipline, and I will be able to do this for the rest of my life. So will Rob, I’m pretty sure. I have not once, in two months, gotten up in the night and eaten all of the Ritz crackers we have in the house for Sam, or eaten at a restaurant and ordered the fruit salad with a large muffin. If one of us was lactose intolerant, or had celiac disease, or even an ulcer we would have to change our diet, and millions of people do. I just have an unrealistic and somewhat egocentric notion that none of those people loved cooking like I do, and therefore none of them feel the despondency I sometimes feel at 5:00 in the afternoon when I am preparing yet another hunk of marinated meat, a salad, a second vegetable, and a teeny, tiny pile of nourishing whole grains.

My prayer to the universe is this: let me keep finding wonderful things to do with the fresh vegetables of summer, let me find recipes for things Italian, Indian, Chinese and Thai that we can eat, let me survive the Michigan winter when there is nothing fresh and local, and let me stop whining about this and move forward.

But if I find out I have six weeks to live, I’m eating French bread, gelato, pasta and Mike & Ikes all day, every day until I am placed in my chocolate-lined coffin.

About imagineannie

I feel like I'm fifteen - does that count? I'm lots of things, I get paid to be the Managing Editor for a local news publication, and I love my job. I am also inordinately fond of reading, animals (I have four), elephants, owls, hedgehogs writing, tramping in the woods, cooking India, Ireland, England, avocado toast, Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Little Women, Fun Home, Lumber Janes, Fangirl, magic, Neil Gaiman, Jane Austen, YA books, not YA books, classical music, Salinger (OMG SALINGER), Brahms, key lime pie, indie music, podcasts, sleeping in, road trips, marmalade, museums, bookstores, the Oxford comma, BBC, The Miss Fisher Mysteries, birdwatching, seashells, kombucha, and stickers. Not a huge fan of chewing gum, jazz, trucker hats or dystopian and/or post-apolcalyptic fiction (but I'll try anything).

10 responses »

  1. So, admittedly, I do not know much about Diabetes, or the relationship between Low carb diets and said diabetes.
    But, it seems to me, that could you not eat small amounts of the said carbs as long as you ate protein with them as well?
    Also, I have had luck in the past using higher fiber versions (brown rice, Whole wheat pasta) Can you try that?
    Would like to know more!

    Reply
    • You may not know much, but you are absolutely right. Diabetics have to watch carbs because they are the foods that cause a rise in insulin, which diabetics do not have in sufficient supply. The goal is to eat enough carbs to have energy and get necessary nutrients (and exercise to burn off excess blood glucose) and the best carbs are whole grain pasta, brown rice, quinoa, whole grain bread, and fruit. They’ll still make sugar go up, but they have a lot of fiber which is technically “carb” but doesn’t raise blood sugar. You’re also dead right that having protein with carbs is better because they’re absorbed more slowly into the bloodstream and there’s no “spike.”

      Sorry. TMI.

      Reply
  2. After reading this, I have submitted an idea to Ann. Perhaps, since we are really sticking to this, and our numbers show it, it is time to alter the plan a bit. One night a week, we should cut loose. Ann can satisfy her urge to cook amazing things, and I can eat some of my favorites. The fact that we are able to check the results, and alter if necessary, means we really have nothing to lose by trying. Just throwing that out there……..

    Reply
    • Still considering this…I guess I’m still in Super Rigid mode about making this work. I know you’re shocked to hear that I am feeling inflexible. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Guess it does take a while to get things settled out after making the commitment to controling blood sugar. Striving for a perfect number everytime is pretty difficult, and probably maddening. Setting a reasonable expectation is also helpfull, so you dont have to deprive yourself completly during periods when you are doing everything else right.

    By testing often and making a correlation with what triggers increasing levels, you can gain a significant amount of flexiblity.

    Accept that the amazing balance system God created cannot remain perfect under the stress of modern life. Graciously accept a good number when you get it, sweat and make a good number out of it when you dont.

    Believe that it will get easier, as time goes on. We will not ever be 18 again, but as you have already noted, there is too much to do to just give up.

    Reply
    • Good advice again, oh sage one. I hope that as time goes by I will see this as a looooong (lifetime) process, and relax a little. These days I still see it as a battle. I know we can “win” if we do everything right, but there are starting to be times when the priority in life becomes something other than what we eat when, and whether or not we have time to work out six days out of seven. That is as it should be; I find that people with nothing going on in their lives other than diet and exercise are often quite dull.

      Reply
  4. “chocolate lined coffin”–they have those? Gawd, you make me laugh out loud at inappropriate moments, sometimes.

    Reply
  5. We do what we have to right. When I had to go completely milk and egg free (not even a *smidgen* in an ingredient) when I was nursing Zachary I was told by a Dr “it couldn’t be done”. I thought, if it can’t be done how is my anaphalactic child going to LIVE? Of course it can be done. I knew if I slipped he’d be up screaming in pain all night. So I didn’t slip up. I know if I slip up now with his food we’ll be in the ER. You can do what you need to, or pay the price. I haven’t made a lasagna in over 9 years. It’s a bummer sometimes for sure. It just forces us to be more creative….which you certainly are. Can’t wait to find out what gems you make of this.

    Reply
    • You know better than anyone what this is like, and we don’t get really sick or kill anyone if we lapse a little. The creativity thing is the silver lining, and it’s a big one. That’s why you can bake all of those wonderful things that are safe for your family AND delicious. We could have a restaurant and bakery called, hmm, El Restricto?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

